We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More interested in making money that customer satisfaction” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bianconi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bianconi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killorglin
Certificate of Excellence
Rochestown, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More interested in making money that customer satisfaction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Myself and my wife and her two sisters stayed here on the first night of the Puck Fair 2013, (9th Aug 2013). We had interconnecting rooms. We all had originally planned on staying two nights but due to circumstances beyond our control my wife and I had to cancel the second night. The price for the second night was €40 per person sharing. We were charged a cancellation fee of €45, which was fair enough as it was short notice and they lost out on filling the room. However, two friends of my sister in law's stayed at the hotel on the second night and they stayed in the room that we had vacated, so there was no loss of business to the hotel. However, when we asked for our cancellation fee back we were told no! We were also told that we had got a "special price" for the second night. This was the first we heard of this. When the booking was made there was no mention of a "special price". And the two people that ended up staying in our room hotel on the second night were charged the same amount that we were originally suppose to pay - €80. The rooms we stayed in were excellent and the hotel was quite nice. While the food in the bar was nice, it was kinda pricey. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves the first night and were planning to come back and stay next year for the fair again. However, considering that we were ripped off when it came to paying we will definitely not be staying in the Bianconi again. We will be back to Killorglin, just not to the Bianconi. I hope the €45 was worth the loss of future business!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
54
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful newly refurbished Hotel. The hotel is centrally located in Killorglin town. Really nice rooms, some with stand alone baths. The town is only 25 minutes from Killarney and great for exploring nearby sites like the Gap of Dunloe,Ring of Kerry, Kate Karneys Cottage.The breakfast was full and plenty,It wasn't self service but I recon there would be no problem if you wanted more of anything as the staff of the hotel were more than helpfull. I had dinner in the bar also and it was beautiful even though they were run off their feet with The Puck Fair their standards didnt fall.Overall I would really recommend this hotel and I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyElma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
275 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Room are very, spotless with good beds and showers.
Free wifi everywhere.
Breakfast cooked to order which is always preferable.
Everyone was friendly, nice and helpful.
Need some water in the rooms.
Great gastro pub downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Highly recommend the new rooms in the Bianconi, very comfortable bed/linen and great shower. Breakfast and service excellent. Evening meal, very good portions in the seafood salad. Not a great wine selection and the beer lines definitely need cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Bianconi for 4 nights as it was central to the the areas I wanted to visit, we received a very warm welcome and all the staff were very attentive and interested in how our days were spent.I would highly recommend the Hotel and the Restaurant as it really is the best and for a reasonable price.
Thanks again Bianconi and especially to Helen the breakfast waitress.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have been coming to Ireland for 20 years and have stayed in many different hotels, guest houses, and B&Bs. The Bianconi is one of the nicest places we’ve ever stayed. They recently did a complete renovation of the rooms and they are outstanding. They thought of every amenity with décor, lighting, and comfort. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was state of the art. I understand they are renovating their public areas soon and when that is completed, this will be a showcase.

It also is in a great location, between the river and the main town of Killorglin. You can walk to everything and there is so much to do.

The only problem we had during our stay was that the wireless was intermittent. We couldn’t get it at all in our room and only sporadically in the public areas. I do hope they fix that, because it is very important.

We highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again, and would even make it a destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely pub/guest house/hotel in the heart of Killgorlin, very near the river. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard with modern decor,comfortable beds & big baths. But: there never seemed to be anyone on Reception, breakfast was disorganised & running late, there were very unusually no tea making facilities in the rooms & it seemed to be a work in progress rather than the finished article. Bar food was excellent with good friendly service & we were disappointed overall with what might have been.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killorglin
9.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
20.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
12.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianconi

Property: Bianconi
Address: Lower Bridge Street, Killorglin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killorglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bianconi is one of the best renowned Inns in Ireland and one of a few luxury hotels on the Ring of Kerry. With a rich history of over 150 years of welcoming visitors to Killorglin, with a recent luxury renovation, the Bianconi remains the most popular place to stay in the heart of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bianconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing