We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but expensive for pub food”

Kate Browne's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ardfert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Kerry
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive for pub food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is very good.
The menu is extensive.
This place is very expensive for pub grub.
The atmosphere is good as you can eat in the restaurant bar which is separate from the bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyril W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    71
    16
    3
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable breakfast”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The vacation rental where we stayed had a menu for this restaurant and a note that they had good craft beers. Unfortunatey we never made it for dinner but we were able to have breakfast. We had poached eggs with smoked salmon and French toast. Both were very good. The waiter/bartender brought our 16-month old crayons and when he saw how much she liked the smoked salmon he brought her over several more pieces at no charge. The tiny scone that accompanied the coffee was even better when dunked. Had we realized they also had pastries we would have taken something to go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view - Great location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a lovely lunch in Kate Brownes.
The food was very tasty and fresh and the waitress Laura was extremely friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great all rounder”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We had this place recommended and were delighted by the off road parking, pleasant atmosphere and menu. The waitress immediately brought colouring materials for the kids and the service was very good throughout. The dishes were superb and there was a pleasing range of craft beers available. Price for 2 starters, 2 adult and 2 kids main courses and 2 desserts as well kids drinks and a couple of craft beers was 75 euros so seems good value too. A great find and thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast, great service, such good value”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I hadn't been here in years, but we stopped for a late breakfast a few weeks ago. It was quarter past 12 so we figured we'd have to order from the lunch menu, but the waitress didn't even hesitate to accommodate us for breakfast. (Which was excellent). We went back today, and breakfast was equally excellent. So friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious. I had poached eggs with toast and bacon, and my partner had granola and a basket of pastries. Couldn't have been better. Plenty of papers to read and lots of really good coffee (we both really appreciate very good coffee). Total for the whole lot was just under €13. This is definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Molltralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate Browne's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ballyheigue, County Kerry
Ballyheigue, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to Kate Browne's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing