We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - better off staying in Killarney” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average - better off staying in Killarney”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm and the hotel was completely locked up. Phoned the booking number in Killarney and eventually a guy arrived and checked us in. CAN'T believe a hotel would close in the middle of the day. What happens to guests already there? Note previous comment about this 'lock out'.
Rooms were OK, but only just OK.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Moinearbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newzealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Castleisland is a lovely town and the people in the RIver Island Hotel were helpful and good natured. The bedrooms had seen better days, and the restaurant food was OK. A good Guinness was served. A pleasant place to saty in an area so close to the Ring of Kerry and the beauty of North Kerry itself.
However, we wandered the streets in the morning and returned to the hotel to find it is locked up between 11 and 4 during the day. We hadn't been told and there was no way to enter. There is a small sign to the left of the door telling visitors that the hotel is closed these hours. A poor woman was inside the hotel and couldn't get out. It was only 11.30 so she had a long wait ahead of her.
As a suggestion when people check in let them know they cant access the building during the day.
Times are hard too as obviously there have been staff cutbacks, the front desk was often left unattended and 1 or 2 staff in the restaurant did a mammoth job with managing large dinner groups

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

had sunday lunch today was excellent the waitress lady's were very friendly and helpful, we had chicken supreme was only €10 each was nice and simple beautiful mash veg and sauce

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossmolina, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We haven't stayed in the hotel, but have stopped by for food many times.

The food is always both consistent and excellent.

I'd recommend the homemade burger but you'd better be hungry if you expect to finish it all! For starters, the Clonakilty Black Pudding with chilli sauce is excellent...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here because Killarney was fully booked with an international golf tournament. We were very impressed with the lobby as it was very swish compared to the B&Bs we had been staying in. The room was average with the view over the back of buildings and the bathroom needed cleaning and updating. The place served meals which was a life saver because absolutely everything else in town was closed by about 6.30pm. The food was pretty good but if it weren't for the restaurant and bar here it would be a terrible town to stay at. For us it was a great base for driving around the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheridan224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Drove through Castleisland on route to Killarney and stopped for some food In the River Island. The food was delicious the portions were great and the price was very reasonable.
If your passing through/staying in this town it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eamonn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our group of 55 people just love the delicious food and the great banter & crac that they have with all the staff. We have been going to this hotel for many years and like a good wine it is better it gets on every visit. As I said not alone is the food and service excellent the crac is mighty. While there visit Con's night club you will have a great night. If you are going back to Kerry you must call into the River Island Hotel and ask for Tom McCarthy he will look after you.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank smiler073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleisland
8.5 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
9.3 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
12.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
13.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Island Hotel

Property: River Island Hotel
Address: Lower Main Street, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your River Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Island Castleisland
River Island Hotel Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing