We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royality”
Review of River Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our group of 55 people just love the delicious food and the great banter & crac that they have with all the staff. We have been going to this hotel for many years and like a good wine it is better it gets on every visit. As I said not alone is the food and service excellent the crac is mighty. While there visit Con's night club you will have a great night. If you are going back to Kerry you must call into the River Island Hotel and ask for Tom McCarthy he will look after you.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank smiler073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

You would have to go a long way in most countries to beat this Hotel. The accommodation is immaculately clean, the hotel is bright and cheerful and the staff are fantastic, NOTHING is too much trouble. The meals are fantastic value.
Most people think that you need to stay in the 'tourist' resorts, like Killarney, Dingle etc but you don't. This hotel is an ideal base for seeing all the touristy areas without the extortionate prices but with all of the hospitality.

Forget staying in the 'tourist' areas and go to the River Island, you won't be disappointed1

Room Tip: The 2nd floor, is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noreenpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

the staff were very friendly , nothing to much trouble. Great location . Food was excellent and sevice quick and effecient. Entertainment was great . We all laughed from start to finish of our holiday . I,l remember it for a long time to come . Tom your irish dancing was great , your are soo funny , a star !

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindawoundupathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed at this hotel last week when with a friend when were visiting Eire with a coach tour. cannot speak to highly of this hotel, Breakfast was excellent, plenty of variety and mounds of toast on the table and real butter,also tea and coffee which was refilled all the time . Dinner was three courses plus tea and coffee,and a different menu every night .. ( we stayed there 4 nights )Fresh vegetables served at the table , and jugs of ice cold water ,again replenished as we emptied them .The food was very good , and , the staff were first class , very helpful and friendly. This hotel is ideally situated for visiting Co Kerry, Loved the nooks and crannys where you could just sit and be quiet ,or, join people at the bar. In the evening downstairs is Con`s Bar for local entertainment which wa very nice ... Thankyou to all the hardworking staff at the Castleisland Hotel. Loved it and loved your country

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed 3 nights here and had a great time. The Manager and staff were very helpful and friendly. Food not as good on the Saturday evening but on the whole it was great. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsiesgirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed with my wife and her parents for 3 nights.

Our rooms were spacious and modern, and very quiet - although one of the rooms was larger than the other.

Staff members were extremely friendly and always had time to stop and chat.

Breakfast was fantastic (order from menu and table service), we ate in the bar on two nights, the food was excellent and generous portions.

Live music in the bar, very entertaining especially when locals and other guests joined in!

No parking available, however we were able to park on the street right outside the hotel - so long as your car is moved by 11am street parking is not a problem.

Location is great for exploring the rest of county Kerry, and much quieter than Killarney or Tralee.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaphod76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed one night at the River Island. Staff was very accommodating. Helped getting kettle working, key working, etc. The room was small, but adequate. We found parking on street just outside hotel. Lovely town. We ate dinner at a pub just a few doors away. My husband stayed there to watch golf and I went back to hotel and used free wi-fi (in lobby only) to check email. Pleasantly surprised to enjoy listening to live traditional music from the lower floor of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubyaDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleisland
1.5 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
807 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Killarney Avenue Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
435 reviews
0 mi away
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Castleisland
7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenbrook House
Glenbrook House
#3 of 4 in Castleisland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Island Hotel

Address: Lower Main Street, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleisland
Price Range: $99 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Island Hotel is a hotel which is relaxed and contemporary, offering a homely feel. In Castleisland, you are in the heart of the Siabh Luachra, a part of Ireland that is known and respected for it's love and contributions to traditional Irish music and dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Island Castleisland
River Island Hotel Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing