We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tailors Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tailors Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Castleisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westdale, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are looking for an immaculate, comfortable B&B, Brede's place is for you. It's similar to a hotel in that you have new towels daily, bed made daily, vacuumed daily, scheduled breakfast with choices you make ahead of time - the night before. Brede is lovely. I had gluten free, and was happy with the choices she provided. It's about 7/10 of a mile into town, so easily walkable if you're in good shape. I even did it, and I'm 67. Great showers - just a nice place to stay. We were in a triple - three women. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
28
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my wife and three teenage boys. We booked a family room and a double. Both rooms were spotless and were well appointed.

Both ensuites had power showers - just what was required after long day.

Each morning we left with our stomachs full from a hearty breakfast - could ask for no more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekVard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this B&B with my boyfriend while visiting friends recently for a 30th. The B&B was absolutely lovely, the rooms were perfectly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was perfect with really nice clean fluffy towels. While I missed the breakfast myself, I heard it was delicious. Most of all though the couple running this B&B were absolutely lovely, they were so helpful with B&Bs and a restaurant recommendation and just a really welcoming attitude. I'd highly recommend this B&B for a visit to Castle Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Tailor Lodge is a first class B&B. Starting with a warm welcome from the owners and care taken to ensure we had everything we needed. Everything was a very high standard and well maintained. After a good night sleep, we had a fabulous cooked breakfast, to set us up for our onward journey. Without question one of the best B&B’s in Ireland. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a lovely place. The service is second to none. Breda just cant do enough for you.
Highly recommended. We will definitely return. Its easy reach from Kerry airport & ideal if you wish to visit the ring of Kerry or Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiledhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the place you want to stay in. Beautiful 14 year old home magnificatly built and furnished. This place is hard to beat. Probably nicer than your own home. On standards of a first class hotel except with personalized treatment. Everything from the house, breakfast, furniture and host is first class plus. Guaranteed as nice as you can find in ireland and most other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadad0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was a year ago that I was here, and my memories are still clear and joyous. If cleanliness is important to you, and comfortability is important to you - then you just can't do better than the Tailor's Lodge. Breda does an incredible job of making you feel like family. In fact, I think my ancestors and her ancestors were married, so I guess that we are family. I will be returning to Kerry in 2014, and I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleisland
0.7 mi away
River Island Hotel
River Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleisland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Castleisland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenbrook House
Glenbrook House
#3 of 4 in Castleisland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tailors Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailors Lodge

Property: Tailors Lodge
Address: Killegane, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castleisland
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tailors Lodge Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing