We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tailors Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tailors Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Castleisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Tailor Lodge is a first class B&B. Starting with a warm welcome from the owners and care taken to ensure we had everything we needed. Everything was a very high standard and well maintained. After a good night sleep, we had a fabulous cooked breakfast, to set us up for our onward journey. Without question one of the best B&B’s in Ireland. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a lovely place. The service is second to none. Breda just cant do enough for you.
Highly recommended. We will definitely return. Its easy reach from Kerry airport & ideal if you wish to visit the ring of Kerry or Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiledhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the place you want to stay in. Beautiful 14 year old home magnificatly built and furnished. This place is hard to beat. Probably nicer than your own home. On standards of a first class hotel except with personalized treatment. Everything from the house, breakfast, furniture and host is first class plus. Guaranteed as nice as you can find in ireland and most other places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadad0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was a year ago that I was here, and my memories are still clear and joyous. If cleanliness is important to you, and comfortability is important to you - then you just can't do better than the Tailor's Lodge. Breda does an incredible job of making you feel like family. In fact, I think my ancestors and her ancestors were married, so I guess that we are family. I will be returning to Kerry in 2014, and I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have been working sporadically in the vicinity of Castleisland for the last 4 years, and ALWAYS stay here, even if there are other places closer. The rooms are very clean, well kept, spacious and very comfortable. The place is quiet and yet near town - a nice 10 min walk in for evening meal etc. They are always helpful and accommodating. Breakfast is always lovely, with plenty of options, plenty of food, very good quality ingredients and beautifully cooked - I'm not a porridge love but the porridge here is a treat worth sampling! II find all B&B's in Ireland are overpriced, but this is more reasonable than many, and in any case for the comfort and service it's a price worth paying. Without doubt however, what makes this place so special is the lady of the house, Breda. She is always bubbly and chatty, wonderfully welcoming and helpful, without being invasive. I defy you to leave in the morning without a smile on your face and ready for the day ahead, which is the best possible compliment! Every place needs a Breda!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you are in or near Kerry, you really should stay here! The welcome from Breda and James is as warm as any, and typical of these lovely people in this part of the world, but couple that with quality of this beautiful house and it's an unbeatable and probably unmatchable place to stay a night or two.

Clearly, no expense has been spared in setting up this modern, elegant and purpose-built guesthouse in with own grounds (with parking), and the welcoming porch and airy entrance hall is indicative of the beautiful house it is.

Throughout, the theme is light-coloured heavy modern wood furniture, doors, window frames and other fixtures and fittings; big windows with luxurious drapes in warm colours give excellent views over the surrounding countryside. In the room we found soft and thick carpet, moulded porcelain and locally made brass taps in the bathroom; a fast and powerful shower in a corner cabinet, a firm and very comfortable bed, all immaculately clean, modern and well-maintained.

The traditional Irish breakfast was tasty, fresh, beautifully cooked, and served on a piping hot plate, which I really like, because the food stayed hot until I'd finished. White toast, wheaten bread and scone were in the bread basket and the selection on the table included a great selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. As I sat eating, the superb grandfather clock in the corner (modern, ornate and in the same light coloured wood matching rest of the house, with gleaming brass pendulums) began to chime the hour - a rich and lovely tone filling the beautiful room, and I realised I was in the kind of 5* quality that a very expensive hotel might be but also in the home of people who loved their home and sharing their lovely things with their guests - something no hotel could match.

The two shared rooms for guests are - a dining room any restaurant would be proud of and any diner would be happy to eat in, and an upstairs lounge that felt really homely, even down to the sweets and the open bottle of wine on the table!!

The town centre is a level, ten minute walk, and the attractive tree-lined, wide, main street is full of local shops and bars ... and friendly people who smile and say hello as you walk past or go into their bar for a drink. A visit to the 300 year old bar and its idiosyncratic bunch of locals is a joyous and memorable experience! The beautiful Dingle peninsula and its coves, bays and mountains is a easy drive away and a good day out -take your camera, and make sure there is plenty of memory - and the welcome back at Tailors Lodge is like coming home to family!

We have stayed at a number of B&Bs in Ireland and Northern Ireland, and they have all been great. It always feels like the latest is the best we have ever been in, but believe me, this one truly is!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The owners of Tailors Lodge B & B offer a great place to stay that is well placed to explore the Dingle Peninsula, Killarney, the Ring of Kerry, & much more! We had extended family with us for two nights and the service and amenities were first class. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The home is neat and very clean! We had aging parents with us and first floor accommodations for them was a real blessing. I heartily recommend this location for anyone who would like to explore the Southwest corner of the beautiful land of Ireland.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castleisland hotels
0.0 mi away
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Castleisland
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Island Hotel
River Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleisland
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenbrook House
Glenbrook House
#3 of 4 in Castleisland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailors Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailors Lodge

Address: Killegane, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castleisland
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tailors Lodge Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing