We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel quality b&b pricing!!”
Review of Tailors Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tailors Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Castleisland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

What an amazing place this is, Breda is the most polite and welcoming hostess, the rooms are beautiful and clean and the facilities rival many of the more expensive hotels I've stayed in.

Breakfast was very tasty also (lovely porridge!!) and a generous fry!

Would recommend highly!

James

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therealpodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

During a recent month-long visit to the West of Ireland, we had the very good fortune to chance upon Tailors Lodge in Castleisland. Breda runs a spotless, comfortable, beautifully appointed home with every amenity you could hope for. Lovely establishment -- just a very good feeling all in all. As two coeliacs, we are always seeking a "safe" gluten-free accommodation, so the real bonus was Breda's awareness and knowledge of our particular needs. A delicious, bountiful "tailor-made" GF breakfast was prepared to perfection, and the kindnesses extended were numerous. This is a definite find on the bed-and-breakfast trail. Mark this one down!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mel and Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Breda O'Sullivan's Tailors Lodge was the best B&B we stayed at during our two week stay in Ireland. I wish we could have stayed there for the whole trip. The moment you walk in the door you are welcomed by inviting aromas and beautiful decor. The rooms were very clean, warm and spacious. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety to choose from. This is the place to stay if you want a great nights sleep and fine Irish hospitality.
The Murray's

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We liked it very much, staying in Tailors Lodge, during our trip through ireland. Rooms were very good and breakfast also fabulos. We got good suggestions to visits and for good restaurants and our hosts were very familiar to us, so we felt they are really interessted to welcome guests with friendship. A really good adress if you want to start trips to Dingle or Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Definitely the place to stay if you are looking for a warm friendly welcome and a cosy room. perfect for anyone to stay who would really like to feel at home. There is a great choice in the breakfast menu and everything just as tasty as the last. The owner Breda is such a lovely lady and welcomes you with a warm smile and lovely conversation. we have been there a few times no and will definitely go back. I know this might sound to enthusiastic but its my genuine thoughts on the place. Kathy and Karl

Room Tip: we have stayed in two different rooms but both were just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyandKarl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here for a family visit in July. The place is immaculately clean. Everything looks brand new. The furnishings and decor are gorgeous. Beautiful views of the fields and mountains, especially in the upstairs sitting room.
Amazing, delicious breakfasts served daily. The full Irish breakfast was heavenly and cooked to perfection. Lighter, healthier items are available, too.
The site is really very quiet so we had many great nights of sleep. The free Wi-fi was extremely convenient.
Breda and James were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breda gave us touring tips and directions whenever we asked. I could have spent all day chatting with her!
We took the two adjacent rooms on the first floor since my son is a wheelchair user. We found the rooms very accommodating for someone with limited mobility (e.g. level thresholds and a hand held shower head).
We had relatives come to visit us and spent a fine afternoon in the beautifully decorated sitting room on the second floor.
Tailors lodge is the best representation of true Irish hospitality. It was really sad when we had to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Great base to tour the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Penisula, and Kilarney area. The Sullivan's are first class hosts and wonderful down home people. Excellent breakfasts and service! Highly recommend it. Castleisland is a lovely small town of 3000 people, away from the hustle and bustle of being closer to Kilarney. Easy access to do day touring the Kerry area in all directions. Quiet, country atmosphere but close enough we walked to town in the evening. Tailor's Lodge was everything the 4 of us expected & more! If my discerning wife and 2 adult daughters rated it a 5-star experience for all 4 nights we stayed there, it can't get any better!
We'd go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castleisland hotels
1.1 mi away
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cloghan Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Castleisland
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Island Hotel
River Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleisland
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenbrook House
Glenbrook House
#3 of 4 in Castleisland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailors Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailors Lodge

Address: Killegane, Castleisland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Castleisland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castleisland
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tailors Lodge Ireland/Castleisland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing