We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet and yummy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrygerry Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Shannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

CARRYGERRY is a lovely country B&B. You'd never know you're 10 minutes from Shannon airport. it was such a racing way to spend our last day in Ireland. We had a large room with two beds (which can be tricky to find in a B&B) and our own bathroom. It w a s built in the 1700s so it's not modern, but then again I wouldn't want that in Ireland. The food is a whole different story....delicious doesn't give it justice. Dinner ends at 9pm, so check in before then so you can taste the yummy food. Come hungry because the portions are huge or plan to split your dinner. Yummy!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Carrygerry. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially trilled that you enjoyed your meal with us. My husband is the chef and he is very passionate about his food. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again in Carrygerry sometime soon.
Thank you again
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had been in Paris and London and arriving at this beautiful inn was a complete, much needed, Irish change of pace. The hosts, Gillian & Niall, couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful with tremendous service and solid sightseeing advice. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfasts and dinner we had in the restaurant were excellent. Staying at the Carrygerry was like having our own Irish family, their friendly son Paddy and dog Rocky added a personal touch to a otherwise delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us after your city trips to Paris and London. Paddy is delighted that he got mentioned in a review he feels very special !!! It is great that you enjoyed our recommendations. We hope that you will come back to Carrygerry soon.
Thank you again
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had reservations to accommodate our whole family here for the final night before our flight back to the US. We did pick a tough night for reservations as it was the start of a bank holiday weekend in Ireland. The rooms were off the outside courtyard and were mediocre at best, not anything like any of the photos shown on the website. I felt like I was inside of a motel 6 or something. The bathrooms were better but none of our showers drained and I was afraid we were going to flood the bathroom floors. When I mentioned this to one of the staff members she said she was surprised as she had not noticed this...... I was underwhelmed with the rooms. The breakfast was lovely although only Gillian was serving everyone and one table was running her ragged with special requests so we didn't get any particular attention.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curtainlady34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am really sorry that Carrygerry was not what you expected. Thank you for bringing to our attention on Saturday morning about the drains we resolved this issue straight away and are sorry for the inconvenience to you and your family. I am sorry for the confusion regarding the bedrooms, on line we have pictures of both our superior and standard bedrooms. I apologies that over breakfast you feel you did not receive the proper service, we here at Carrygerry always try our best to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their stay I hope that if you are in Ireland again you will let us try and put this right.
Kind regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved driving up the drive to the front of this beautiful house and being ushered into a cute lil bar cum waiting room. I knew this was going to be good.
Room was lovely, 4 poster bed, huge bathroom but the food. Oh my God the food.
We had dinner there on the Friday and it was divine. The vodka sorbets between courses were perfect, the fish sauce was creamy, beef just melted. If you stay here, you MUST eat here. The following night we were pack late and were ushered in at 3am as if it was delight to see us back. Seemingly aslan stayed there the same night and had a big party but we heard nothing so sound proofing must be great too.
i can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Carrygerry. I am delighted that you enjoyed your 2 nights with us and especially your dinner the sorbet with vodka is always a big hit. Hope we will see you back in Carrygerry soon.
Thanking you
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Carrygerry is a beautiful setting right near the airport, a perfect way to begin and end a trip to Ireland. The rooms are well appointed and the food is superb. Moreover, Carrygerry Country House went out of their way to help us, after we had an incident with lost passports. We'll never forget their kindness. Highly recommend you stay there. Larry + Alice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted that you got home safely after your eventful last day in Ireland. I do hope that you will come back someday soon.
Kind regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff at the Carrygerry Country House was fantastic. The property was just what we wanted. The sheep and cows lowing in the evening was a pleasant touch! We stayed here the first two days of our 10 day self-guided tour of Ireland. Gillian provided us with a pint when we arrived and gave us great advice on things to do in this beautiful country. The breakfast was great. To top it all off, we accidentally left our electricity converter in our room. They had found it and asked how to forward it to our next stop on our itinerary. It was waiting there when we arrived!

After evaluating the four places that we stayed on our trip, the overwhelming consensus was that this was our favorite stop!

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the top floor provided great views and a cool July breeze through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hi Chris thank you for your recent review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the information was useful. You were really lucky with the beautiful weather this is not normal !!. Hope we will see you in Ireland again.
Regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. It is a family run country house close to Shannon airport. We had a fantastic room. The breakfast was great and the people were very nice. The outside of the house needs some maintenance and painting. But the inside is perfect. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrygerry, Owner at Carrygerry Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your last night in Ireland with us here in Carrygerry. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay as you mentioned the front of the house is in need of a make over it is on the list so you will have to come back to visit us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Kind regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
5 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.9 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
350 reviews
9 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrygerry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrygerry Country House

Address: Newmarket-on-Fergus | near Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Shannon
Price Range: $93 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrygerry Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrygerry Country House has 11 bedrooms with a restaurant which is open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday each week. Licenced bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Carrygerry Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrygerry Country House Hotel Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing