We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carrygerry Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
318
59
12
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
59
12
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedthe main houselast nightb bshannon airportold housesitting roomgreat countryirish countrysiderelaxing staybrowniefull barwonderful tripseafood chowderbeautiful roomcooked to perfectionpot of tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 407 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Their recent Trip Advisor Excellence Award is completely well deserved. We had the most relaxing and wonderful weekend we've had in a long time. The first to welcome us was Rocky, the family labrador. Then Gilllian, the owner gave us a lovely warm welcome. We felt at home immediately. The meals were excellent and the room spotless and comfortable. The countryside setting is fab. Gillian was accommodating in every way and we could not say enough about her and her staff. They were very busy for the whole weekend, with a full dining room of guests, yet, they were calm and pleasant to everyone throughout.They have two rescue ponies, one of which had a beautiful foal recently - named Tayto. We have already planned to go back in November for a birthday, with two other friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate our engagement and were blown away by the staff. The room was beautiful with a HUGE four poster bed and decorated to fit in with the historical feel of the house. The food was amazing and the staff qere second to none. I would STRONGLY recommend a visit. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaniJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked 3 rooms for our family the night before our early morning flihgts back to the USA. Beautiful setting. 10 minutes to the SNN airport. Most comfortable bed I had had in 8 days. Dinner was delicious. Owner/chef is first class in preparation and presentations. Greeting was warm and welcoming. Rooms in mainhouse and courtyard equally appointed. Just make sure the hot water is working before your early morning showers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmac1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a picturesque old country house with a lot of charm and comfort. The innkeepers were incredibly kind to accept us very early in the morning (the Boston flight to Shannon arrives at about 600am) and show us to a comfortable, quiet, ground floor room where we could rest until early afternoon, when a nice tea was served to us in the main parlor. The Carrygerry is situated down a narrow country lane, surrounded by cow pastures in a beautiful pastoral setting. It is almost unbelievable that it is only a short drive from Shannon Airport. The dining is superb here even if one is not staying the night. This is a lovely place for a small destination wedding . The morning of our departure we looked in on the conservatory where we had dined the previous evening; it been beautifully set up for a wedding reception later that day. I enjoyed the BEST cup of tea in Ireland here, and was surprised and delighted to learn that for breakfast, in typical Irish custom, cream, honey or whiskey were the options to dress up your porridge (hot oatmeal). The I-pad worked fine here – I had trouble getting on-line with my Macbook Pro. Overall, an absolutely lovely Irish experience and great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't like to carry luggage up a flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I don't give many 5 star ratings but this place deserves it. We've been on a 2 week vacation in Ireland and Scotland and this was my favorite place. We were greeted by name with a spot of tea and tray of cookies mid afternoon without even asking for it. This may not be the fanciest place but what they lack in decor they make for in charm and honest service.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews