We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice near Thomond Park and Shannon Airport”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice near Thomond Park and Shannon Airport”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We choose this hotel for weekend rugby match at the last minute on expedia because it was a short drive from Thomond Park (we ended up just taking a shuttle bus) and the airport. It’s one of those olde worlde type places from the outside, and parking was free. There was a buzz in the hotel over the match (Ospreys/ Munster) and when we came back there was a traditional Irish music session in full swing. There was a great atmosphere and food...gorgeous seafood chowder and Guinness. The rooms were very modern; flat screen tvs, aircon and clean fresh linen. Day after the match we blew away the night before down the road at the cliffs of Moher and then went to a banquet at Bunratty castle that night; ready for early flight home the next day. I thought this place was great value, a good safe location and clean and I’ll return should I be in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    238
    120
    77
    44
See reviews for
205
299
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Good base for medieval castles. My son's priority was to see castles, and we needed to be close to the airport so Shannon ticked all the boxes. This hotel could fit our family of five in one room, so it worked out economically. In one day we visited Quin Abbey, Bunratty Castle, Craggaunowen's Living Past (his favourite) and Knappogue. The room was big, clean and functional. There were good childern's options on the menu and we had fresh fish (seabass and salmon on specials) and as we were getting ready to leave a live traditional music session broke out in the pub; it left a great last impression of Ireland. Breakfast was an all u can eat buffet, and we were at the airport five minutes after checkout.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rituchopra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Great base near Shannon airport. Stayed here for last two nights before going home and it was fab. Near the Aran islands, cliffs of moher, Thomond park (we had timed the visit for the Pink concert) and Bunratty, yet just five minutes from the airport. We enjoyed the traditional music at night and the food was reliable with specials every night. Rooms were big, clean and had big TV screens. Good value too - would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKumar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I spent a few nights here on a sles trip with my partner for a few reasons. It was near the business park and my parter wanted to catch a rugby match in Thomond Park. The location hit the bill, its in a quiet residential in Shannon Town area near the airport and Bunratty castle. Staff were friendly, particularly bar staff - Neil(?) and the rest of the guys. Food was good - the pub was like something from Pride and Prejudice village scene. It filled up with locals and visitors later in the evening, sometime with traditional Irish music.

There was a McDonalds and Subway nearby when we wanted to be bold.

My partner runs, so the gym was useful, and he met a guy who gave him a fantastic river side run, and another short run into Bunratty castle.

Receptionist were great (particularly the girl who picked out some other local restaurants for us and booked us in for a round of golf) - the blond girl was also good humoured.....mostly!!!!

Our room had aircon and a great shower - good enough to get us started for the day, and a good choice for breakfast which was included in our rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamiltonbridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flowergirl4
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We checked into this place and thought wow it's so nostalgic. That was the thought walking down the hallway but upon entering the room it was clear this place hasn't been updated in years. There were cobwebs in our room and our closet was covered in dust. The bathroom had heavy mold in the shower and the paint was chipping all over the sink area. The bed was firm to say the least... you could get the same feel if you slept on the sidewalk. This was by far the worst place we slept while in Ireland. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowergirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADARE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel is a hidden gem for a wedding reception. The function room is beautiful spacious and laid out well for a wedding. The staff at the hotel are very nice and the rooms were just lovely - I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone! 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adareshinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JemShannon, Manager at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Dear Fitzgeraldsadare, we cannot tell you how much your kind remarks mean to the entire team here at the Oakwood. Your generous comments have put ‘a pep in the step’ across all departments and we truly appreciate the time that you took to write this review. Thanks you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

After staying in very nice hotels throughout Ireland, we stayed at Oakwood Arms on our last night in order to be close to Shannon airport. For convenience to the airport the place cannot be beat as it is about 5 minute drive. However, the hotel is very dated. When we entered our room someone had left the heat on full blast so our room was litterally like a furnace. The heat should have been turned off by the maid. We opened the window and headed to the restaurant to grab something to eat. The restaurant/bar seemed over priced for the quality of food. I think our burgers were around 13EUR each or something -- way over priced and just OK. Also, I was annoyed that I could not phone in a wake up call. I called down and the front desk clerk told me to set it on my TV, which is fine and we did, but still they should also take phoned wake up calls. With an early flight the next day, I wanted the confidence of a phoned in wake-up-call, and was highly annoyed by this. For the price, the hotel was OK, but I would look for somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletch608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,150 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,283 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing