We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base for touring Shannon / County Clare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
dublin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“An excellent base for touring Shannon / County Clare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed a few times at the Oakwood Arms, and to be perfectly honest, you could not have a better location to enjoy all that County Clare has to offer. From Bunratty Castle ( 10 minute drive) to the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the Ailwee Caves and not forgetting it is a very short distance to Shannon Airport

Truthfully, the hotel could do with updating, but it is this old world charm that I really like. The hotel has an aviation theme (being so close to Shannon Airport) with pictures & images adorning the walls.

At weekends the hotel can be very busy, which in itself, surely is a good indication of it's popularity. The hotel also caters to wedding & other events, but I have never had a disturbed nights sleep resulting

Sophie's lounge, the bar in the hotel, is a wonderful location for meeting friends or just hanging. It also has an aeronautical theme and on some nights, a small group plays traditional Irish music here. the groups playing that I have seen are usually 3 or 4 members sitting in the lounge area and playing at a decibel that in no way interrupts conversation,

The hotel has a really nice restaurant called "Pier 17", but it is closed on Sunday nights, otherwise the food served in the bar is excellent. There is also a carvery area during the lunch period

If the hotel has a few faults, it is these ...... Only a few rooms have Air Conditioning, for some strange reason the rooms I have stayed in had no 3 pin (normal Irish / UK plug type) plug sockets beside the beds but had 2 pin round plugs... meaning that I was unable to have my phone plugged in & charging overnight. On my last stay I could hear the water running in the adjacent bathroom

WiFi is provided free throughout the hotel and no matter where I went I found it had a strong & reliable signal

Having said all of the above, this hotel has one big plus that many other hotels do not have .... excellent staff. Without exception, I found everyone I dealt with to be friendly, professional, polite, knowledgeable & courteous. Front desk, Bar & Restaurant, Room service, each and every one was a credit to the hotel

Room Tip: If you need Air Conditioning, make sure you ask if your room will have AC. Do not miss having a mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear flame01,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is a great pleasure to read such kind words about the hotel and the various departments and the staff you encountered.
The Oakwood Arms Hotel had its origins as a family owned run business and I think we just naturally feel like one big, happy family!. It really is the small things that make a difference.


Looking forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    228
    116
    72
    40
See reviews for
189
284
54
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

It had a good location for our next morning early flight - once we found it. Our reservation confirmation had an address, no number, on Airport Rd. However, there are no road signs with this name, everything is by route nos. which did not all show on the map with the confirmation. After finding the right road we also had a problem because the hotel sign had apparently been blown away earlier in the year and was temporarily replaced with a small sign by the road that did not stand out. The desk clerk on checking in indicated there was a party that night in the lounge and considerately gave us a room to the rear that would be quiet. He directed us to a rear entrance near an elevator and our room. This entrance was filthy with cigarette butts, tin cans and cups - obviously not cleaned for a long time. The room and bath were clean but the carpet was old and stained and needed to be replaced or at least cleaned. We cannot comment on the restaurant as we left early before breakfast and did not use the restaurant. It is convenient to the airport but overall the hotel needs some updating and management attention to signage and cleanliness of common areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shotgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kerry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

didn't stay over night, just went for food with a friend yesterday evening. we ate in the bar. it was very very dated. not very clean, quiet shabby. service was very poor. waited ages for menus, eventually had to get them ourselves. had to go to the bar to order as nobody came. when our food finally came, it wasn't what we ordered! waiters were not very attentive. i really wouldn't recommend this place. definitely wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sophie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We went for the weekend on a deal, and i have to say from start to finish it was fantastic, the rooms are big and very comfortable, we had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was lovely, as were all the staff, on the Sunday evening we ate in the bar and the food was just as good (must have an excellent chef) the breakfast has a good choice and was piping hot, we had a lovely stay and will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal for this hotel on escapes.ie for 2nights b&b and one evening meal in pier 17 restaurant all for only €99! We brought our 2 teenage sons and our 7 year old daughter and the boys got an interconecting room to ours and we were only charged €35 per child for the stay aswell, what with it being so cheap we expected a bit bog standard to be honest, but we were very plesantly suprised! The hotel was spotless clean throught and they have managed very well to keep an old antique looking premises look very attractive and up to date, rooms were big and spacious, staff were ever so helpfull, the restaurant is top quality and the bar has a good atmosphere, our only fault was there was no swimming pool but for what we paid we feel it was more than value for money, i also love all the avaition decor through out the hotel, our sister and brother inlaw also stayed and everyone of us agreed we had a fantastic stay and we would definatley come back again, apart from a lack of kids entertainment this hotel shouldnt change a thing its a great place to stay, keep up the good work!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank slippermagick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is near the Shannon airport which is why we chose it. It is an older property and the rooms need updating. There were water stains on the ceiling and the tub was in need of repair. The continental breakfast (offered early to accommodate early flights) was unremarkable--canned fruit, dry cereals, toast. It was overheated in the room. We didn't realize until the morning that we could have turned the heat off. The wake-up function on the TV was a good feature.

Room Tip: It's a huge place. I don't know if there are more modern rooms. They still have smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

After some trouble booking in, Frances the Sales Manager, worked on our behalf to sort us out. We arrived to a lovely big airy room, which was so comfortable. Bar was great, had lovely food, met great people.
Restaurant was lovely also, food fantastic for dinner and good selection for breakfast which is great for us as my husband can't eat pork so Irish breakfasts are out for him, but unlike some Irish hotels we have stayed in, he had plenty of options. Overall the staff are friendly and helpful, with the exception of 1 girl on reception on our first day who had a bit of an attitude, but that doesn't take from the great break we had there.
The only other thing I would say is be prepared for a long walk, the hotel is very spread out and our room was a loooooong walk from reception, which in itself is ok but when you room card doesn't work and you have to keep walking to and from reception with a grumpy tired 2 yr old its not great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you don't want a very long walk to and from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBizDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing