We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, very nicely decorated, with lots of antique furniture.
The rooms are very nice.
Both breakfast & dinner were lovely.
Service very good also.
Some entertainment at weekends.
Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinTherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear DublinTherese,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is a great pleasure to read such kind words about the hotel and the various departments and the staff you encountered.
The Oakwood Arms Hote It really is the small things that make a difference.
and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel .

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    226
    113
    72
    41
See reviews for
186
284
53
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent 1 night with my family- Paid 75 euros for b&b, 2 adults and 1 child
the hotel has a special touch, furniture is very nice, different. Bedroom 207 was nice and clean, tea machine, iron, hairdresser, we had everything we needed.

Car park is included, staff is very helpful and the Puer 17 restaurant is amazing.

They have a 22.5 euros menu for main + dessert OR starter+ main with 1/2 bottle of wine included.

The dinner was just perfect and not used to this price in Ireland. Per person I would have paid 40 euros minimum for the same diner anywhere in Ireland!
They have also a kid menu unbelievable. Very good choice for main+drink +dessert for 4.5 euros
It's not possible to miss this restaurant if you stay in Oak Wood Arms hotel

Regarding the breakfast perfect also. I would definitely go again and again to this hotel if I am back to Shanon or close to. This hotel is in my top 3 in Ireland so far. For this kind of standard, I would say it's normally 40% more expensive

Room Tip: the only bad thing was the quality of mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear barbaraDublin,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I bought a voucher on a deal website for €99 - two nights b&b and dinner on one evening at the Oak Wood.

I'm not overly familiar with Shannon myself so I wasn't sure what to expect but on arrival my boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was buzzing with plenty of people in the restaurant and bar and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Despite the hotel being quite old, our room was really spacious and lovely and warm for the duration of our stay!

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and as we were on a deal voucher, we were offered a set menu however our waiter (can't remember his name but we LOVED him) informed us that we could order off the a la carte menu for a small supplement per course if we didn't fancy anything off the set menu. I had the goats cheese starter and pork main...... Absolutely delicious! And my boyfriend had a steak big enough for 3 people. Again after our meal the bar was nice and lively with trad music so we settled in for the night.

Breakfast on both mornings was just as good with the chefs constantly topping up the buffet with fresh food. Nice amenities and tourist attractions in the area, we chose to visit the cliffs of moher and ailwee caves. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear lilmissmoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your good experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off.

My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked this hotel recently on a bargain hotel website and was more than pleasantly surprised.
The location of the hotel is not exactly in a scenic part of the country but it is a most convenient hub from which to explore the west of ireland and all its charms.
this hotel is located on the main shannon airport road but this did not impinge on our stay at all.
The Foyer is warm on entry and a very pleasant gentleman checked us in on arrival.
Our room was beautifully warm but we could adapt the heat by a simple turn of a dial on the radiator. the room was large and although the en suite facilities were very compact they were more than adequate with plenty of hot water for the essential travellers bath.
Excellent bar food available and impressive restaurant menu on our second night although we were on the package meal deal. Staff were very friendly and responsive to all requests. I cannot fault this hotel in anyway. Definitely will return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryCCCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MaryCCCarlow,

I'm delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you took time out to enjoy our facilities. We are very fortunate in having a great team of staff here at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. Thank you once again for your recent stay and for taking the time out to review your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again

My Kindest Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here overnight after we visited the Cliffs of Moher. It is a nice hotel, the beds and pillows were comfortable.It's reasonably priced. If you're looking for the hair dryer, it's in the desk drawer. There is a restaurant there which has good food. Breakfast was included with our stay; I wasn't impressed with the breakfast though. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illinoistraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear illinoistraveler25,
I would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel, our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We really hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights. Great place, Very close to Bunratty castle, close to many amenities as well ! Overall lovely hotel, staff are very friendly and efficient. Dinner was great! Room was excellent!

Definitely would stay here again, and would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
AudreyMcM,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Trip advisor.
Our philosophy is great service and quality at affordable prices. We delighted when our guest take time out to express their appreciation and I will be sure to share your comments with our team.
We very much appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you in the Oakwood Arms Hotel in the near future.

We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co. Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this venue for a recent christening party. Having been offered the conservatory area originally, I was dissapointed to be moved into the restaraunt at the last minute.
However the manager and staff on the day did everything they could to accomadate us and they transformed the restaraunt area in to a superb venue. The food was delicious and the staff were very helpful.
Everybody had a great day and I'd like to thank your hotel and staff for making it a memorable day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesClare_Ireland, Director of Sales at The Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Stephen M.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your good experiences at The Oakwood Arms Hotel. As part of the hotel, policy we read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that you our clients are receiving the highest level of service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off.
My Kindest Regards

Frances Kinnane
Sales & Marketing Manager
Oak Wood Arms Hotel
Shannon
Co.Clare
Tel. 061 719 236

Email sales@oakwoodarms.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.8 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing