We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT  END TO OUR BREAK ”
Review of The Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT  END TO OUR BREAK ”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Clean rooms, good food, friendly and well presented and made this hotel a good choice near Shannon Airport. There is a shopping centre across the road and our rate included access to the Cliffs of Moher which made it good value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    238
    120
    77
    44
See reviews for
205
299
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

With only a week from Dublin to Shannon, we were careful with our choices. This hotel is clean, friendly and comfortable. There was a wonderful tradional Irish music session in full swing the night be stayed and the food was the best that we had in our week. Rooms were spacious and bright. There's a convenient mall across the street from the hotel and we discovered a really neat craft centre just a few minutes away on the road to Bunratty castle. The airport is very close which took the headache out of early morning departure. My husband really enjoyed all the aircarft pictures and history around the hotel as he works in the industry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were surprised mostly by this hotel on our visit to Ireland. We chose the Oakwood because of its location and value for the last two nights of our trip. The online rate was fantastic and it is so close to the Shannon Airport and Cliffs of Moher. We hadn't expected the modern bedrooms with comfy beds and big screen tv's. The staff was very friendly and we had a beautiful meal in the hotel restaurant. Top Marks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bik83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After a long journey we arrived at the hotel for an over night stay .There was my sister my eldery mother and my self On arrival at the hotel we had to park away out at the back of the hotel it was raining heavly we had to walk around to the front to get in which wasnt fair on my mother the disabled places were full with cars with no wheelchair cards on them on arriving into reception The girl on duty wasnt very friendly she didnt speak good english when I told her that we had a room booked She insisted that we paid up front never heard of this before in any other hotel I stayed in We were told our room number but we didnt understand her so we walked down the long dull and dreary corridor to find the room when asked would we get something to eat she said abruptly no food we had to go elsewhere to get food which wasnt fair on my elderly mother as as there was a wedding there that day they got priory over the rest of the residents that had previously booked were neglected. the bedroom were average no soap dirty towels carpet dirty curtains dirty kettle didnt work no biscuits and only one light working all that decent was the beds after a good night sleep WOW breakfast time we went to restaurant we sat waitng for 10 mins before anyone seen us this girl took our tea and coffee order we where told to get our own breakfast from hotplates which was cold the sausages burnt through cold rubber eggs cold toast had picked at breakfast when tea and coffee arrived the chef came out to ask did we enjoy the breakfast i told him that you wouldnt give to a dog he looked at me passed to comment and walked away i wont be staying in this hotel again or will I be telling anyone to stay here there has to be a better hotel in the area

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank puppy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for our last night in Ireland, as the hotel was very convenient to Shannon Airport. We thought that the hotel was lovely, and very comfortable. The rooms were clean and large. The hotel itself is large, and does seem somewhat dark due to the wood everywhere. There was a nice lounge just outside our rooms, which was convenient for our group to sit and relax together. There was fantastic wifi available, the best found on our trip. There is airline memorabelia throughout the hotel, which is interesting to read. There were also several airline staff staying there, which we took as a good sign. Overall, I would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This place is a convenient as it gets to the airport. Bedroom was very clean, restaurant had good food and the staff were friendly. Best thing (for me) was WIFI signal was tthe best I have ever received. Good Guinness too :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyladE981NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2011, hotel beautifully decorated with lots of interesting facts & pictures on walls. My room was a smoking room which was comfortable but could do with a bit of redecorating. Food in hotel is excellent, breakfast very very good and staff are very helpful & pleasant. Would recommend as a nice, comfortable hotel to stay in Shannon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalieflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
0.6 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,152 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,287 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Hotel

Property: The Oakwood Hotel
Address: Airport Road, Shannon, Ireland (Formerly Oakwood Arms Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood Hotel is newly refurbished hotel located less than 3 minutes from Shannon Airport. The hotel has 100 well appointed bedrooms with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking for all guests. The hotel is the perfect place to stay for business close to local business district with 100MB Wifi and a warm relaxing newly designed Bar serving food and beverage all evening. The hotel is also the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and its surroundings. The hotel is centrally located between Bunratty Castle & The Cliffs of Moher. The Wild Atlantic Way is just a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Bunratty Castle is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Limerick and Ennis are less than 10 minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Wood Arms Shannon
Hotel Oak Wood Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing