We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in the heart of Clifden”
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
1 review
“Lovely B&B in the heart of Clifden”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had a fantastic stay in Kingstown House B&B in Clifden. The location was excellent right in the center of Clifden, so all the services were really easily accessible, and also it was easy to explore other places in Connemara region from Clifden. We had a very warm welcome, and our hosts gave us a lot of tips what to do and see while we were there, and helped us with practical arrangements of our Connemara sightseeing. Our room was beautiful and cosy. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection. Kingstown House is good value for money, and we highly recommend it. Hopefully we will return there one day. Thank you for the lovely stay. :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
71
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We had a fantastic 3 nights at Kingstown House, location is ideal, right in the centre of Clifden. Regina and Jim were friendly, accommodating and happy to share there knowledge of the area, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable, tastefully decorated and most importantly to us, spotlessy clean. Breakfast selection and quality was excellent, exceeding our expectations (Regina's home made bread and jam, along with Jims pancakes are not to be missed). Should we return to Clifden in the future I would most certainly book Kingston House and would recommend without hesitation. Thanks for your hospitality Regina and Jim.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GASWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Though not an expert, I have stayed in about a dozen B&Bs in Ireland, including one other in Clifden, and this was certainly the nicest one I've come across and hands down the best value. Jim and Regina were incredibly warm and welcoming and both seem to work very hard to make the experience as delighful as possible for everyone. I was very impressed at how pleased and appreciative all the other guests were.

Great location in the center of town (literally one minute from restaurants, shopping, pubs etc.), lovely front room right on the street (to watch the world go by) and attractive exterior. Comfortable and cozy rooms, good beds, good water pressure (plenty of hot water) and a great breakfast all contributed to make this trip to Connemara a real success. Ask the owners for tips on dining, shopping and sightseeing.

I will definitely be returning. A very strong recommend!

Tip: The drive down from Westport is magical.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Overall Kingstown House was comfortable - the hosts are pleasant and the location is perfect. We enjoyed a lovely evening sitting in front of the fire in the front room which afforded us internet access and a view of passerby. The place was clean and cozy but the sleeping room smelled very musty. I realize that this is a very old house but each room definitely needs an ionizer to get rid of the smell. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We had a fantastic stay in Kingstown House B&B - Jim was the most accommodating host, offering us service above and beyond anything I've experienced in an Irish B&B. The rooms were really comfortable; the location was ideal - right in the centre of town; and the breakfast was incredible. Kingstown House reminds you of exactly what a B&B should be - warm friendly and flexible service, and that "home away from home" feeling.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

Wonderful place to stay. Great atmosphere, lovely breakfast, very friendly and welcoming owners, clean and nice rooms. Thank you for a very very nice time in your B&B. Malte and Isabella

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank im4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This B&B is centrally located in Clifden which is an ideal base to explore the West of Ireland. Clifden is a quaint little village with a nice high street and a few good restaurants. The B&B is located just off the high street (about one minute's walk), although not noisy at all. Kingstown House is clean, rooms are of a fair size and bathrooms en suite. It is well priced for what you get, which includes a scrumptuous Irish breakfast prepared by Jim. The owners are friendly and will do their utmost to make you feel at home. Keen about the Connemara ponies? Just ask Jim to give you all the information that you will need. We can definitely recommend Kingstown House should you ever be looking for accommodation in that area.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and attitude of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#11 of 45 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Property: Kingstown House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kingstown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing