We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whole family loved it.”
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Whole family loved it.”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

In the heart of Clifden. Clean rooms, and although it is an older place, the entire family loved it. Perfect location for shopping & restaurants. Wonderful breakfast and hospitality. Only bummer was the poor internet connection.

Room Tip: We had the family room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
71
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This B&B is situated in the centre of Clifden town with ample parking available on the street outside. The owners are very friendly and interested in our feedback when we were leaving. The cooked breakfast was delicious, generous portions and cooked to perfection. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
473 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The B&B itself is pleasant (definitely an older property). Regina and Jim, the owners were very friendly and very helpful on what to do in the area. You can park infront of the B&B on the street. It is well situated just off of the main street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

unless you're averse to genuine hospitality. Regina and Jim were spectacular. I just returned yesterday from a weekend-long family wedding. Since everyone in the family was home for the wedding, for the first time in decades, I had to pay for accommodations in Connemara. (I know, I can hear the teeny violins now!) At any rate, I looked on this website and asked my cousins for recommendations. Both directed me to look at Kingstown House. It is centrally located in the very heart of Clifden; you are literally right around the corner from everything in town. An older building, it is not the Ritz, but it is charming. The rooms (by American standards) are small but we spent very little time in them anyways. There's a very cozy front room downstairs with a fire if you're looking to chillax anyways. The bed was super and we slept like rocks. In the morning (rather late in the morning in fact) Regina was ready for us with a slew of options for breakfast. So accommodating was she that when my cousin informed her the night before that she had wheat allergies, she popped into the shop and purchased some gluten free bread for her breakfast. She then insisted that my cousin take the remainder of the loaf home with her to Dublin so it would not go to waste. Just like staying with family. It will be my first recommendation to friends visiting Ireland for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A lucky find for us! This b&b was just what we were looking for... and more. Regina and Jim were very friendly, helpful, and generous hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricKes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailieboro, Co Cavan
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second time to stay at Kingstown House and again we had an extremely positive experience. Excellent value for money with lovely comfortable beds, nice rooms, and the breakfast couldn’t have been better – lots of options, locally sourced produce and home baking with plenty of good coffee. The owners, Jim and Regina, are the kindest, friendliest people you will ever encounter. They were a great source of local information and went above and beyond the call of duty to cater for our special requests. The guesthouse is in a great location too just at one end of the main street and Clifden is an ideal base from which to explore the many delights of Connemara. We are looking forward to our next trip already!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandI2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is central to everything in Clifden, right in the middle of town. Good food. nice rooms, comfortable beds and helpful owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstromsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#11 of 45 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Property: Kingstown House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kingstown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing