We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a nicer B&B than this - looking forward to our next visit!”
Review of Kingstown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingstown House
Certificate of Excellence
Bailieboro, Co Cavan
1 review
“You won't find a nicer B&B than this - looking forward to our next visit!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our second time to stay at Kingstown House and again we had an extremely positive experience. Excellent value for money with lovely comfortable beds, nice rooms, and the breakfast couldn’t have been better – lots of options, locally sourced produce and home baking with plenty of good coffee. The owners, Jim and Regina, are the kindest, friendliest people you will ever encounter. They were a great source of local information and went above and beyond the call of duty to cater for our special requests. The guesthouse is in a great location too just at one end of the main street and Clifden is an ideal base from which to explore the many delights of Connemara. We are looking forward to our next trip already!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandI2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
75
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is central to everything in Clifden, right in the middle of town. Good food. nice rooms, comfortable beds and helpful owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstromsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed there at weekend...if you are looking for super modern then you are in wrong place...its a lovely, relaxed and friendly B+B full of charm.
Gorgeous, freshly cooked breakfast in the morning with as much coffee and tea as we could wish for :)
Owners were lovely but not intrusive...is centrally located and would recommend...ssshhh its reasonably priced too :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Jim was painting the outside of the property when we arrived, Regina welcomed us and Jim carried our cases upstairs. The property is very central to Clifden and restaurants and pubs/bars, however our room was not noisy as it was at the back of the house. Breakfast was made to order and quite extensive.
My mother in law had asked us to bring a loaf of soda bread back from Ireland and on asking where the nearest bakery was where I may purchase a loaf Regina offered to bake the loaf as she was baking anyway!
Thank you Regina and Jim for a lovely stay in Clifden

Room Tip: Let Regina and Jim know exactly what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongTallJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Kingstown House is centrally located in the heart of Clifden. Easy to walk to anywhere in town. It is run by Jim, an American, and his Irish born wife, Regina. I believe it has been in her family for a number of years. They were both great and the breakfast was excellent. Personally, I felt the rooms needed some brightening and sprucing up, but my wife loved it. Our room was big, the beds comfortable and overall clean. We had a great night listening to music in one of the local pubs which was in easy walking distance. There is on street parking at the doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I decided to stay in Clifden spur of the moment and wandered into the 1st B&B that I came upon. My Irish luck must have been running high because the Kingstown was everything I would want in a B&B. Regina & Jim are genuinely friendly hosts and made me feel very welcome. As others have stated, I don't think anything would be too much trouble for them. Exceptionally nice people.

My room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, and the bed was more comfortable than the one I have at home. Slept like a baby. Free WiFi with a strong signal. Roomy shower with plenty of pressure & hot water. I did not use the sitting room but it looked nice and homey. The breakfast room is done up with tables covered with white linens & folded white napkins just like a restaurant. The full Irish is available if you want it. I was happy with cereal, fruit, oj, tea, & toast.

There is free & plentiful parking along Bridge Street. My 2nd night I was able to park directly across from the front door. The location is central to all pubs and restaurants in the small, charming town of Clifden. There is a laundry service just up the street which will deliver your clothes to the B&B. Sky Rd, Kylemore Abbey, and Connemara NP are all a short drive away. Croagh Patrick is only about 45 minutes away using the scenic route. (Took my out of shape butt 5.25 hrs up & down)

I stayed a total of 2 nights and would gladly stay again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrunkenYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Clean, comfortable rooms and some very kind hosts made this a great choice. Right in the center of town, try Griffins Bar for great craic. Breakfast options include the nicest cheese plate i've seen and that includes France! Best of all, free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingstown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstown House

Property: Kingstown House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B located within the Town Centre and within easy walking distance of all shops, restaurants and pubs. A long standing family owned B&B - Regina was born and grew up in the house. We take pride in our hospitality and always try to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay. Please ask if we can help out in any way. Kingstown House B&B is located in Clifden, the Capital of Connemara and is wonderful central base for touring all of Connemara. All the bedrooms are located on the first or second floors. If you prefer a room on the first floor, kindly let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kingstown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing