We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, nice and central, lovely staff”
Review of Dun Ri Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a night in July for a total cost of 70 Euros. We found the staff to be very helpful after we walked in off the street with no prior booking. We asked for a room with a bath and were offered a viewing, we liked it and were given the keys. When we returned with our car half an hour later (limited off road parking provided) they spontaneously offered to change our room for a bigger one, which we were even more pleased with. Although the place is basically a B&B it does provide a guest lounge equipped with tea bags, instant coffee, biscuits and a kettle as well as a PC with free Internet access, TV and a piano. WiFi was provided to all guest rooms, but I had difficulty with the signal strength, however I found the staff very helpful sorting this out and they offered us yet another room change so that we could be closer to the signal transmitter! I did not wish to trouble them further and so instead I decided to do my work in the lounge where the signal strength was good.

I did find the breakfast rather disappointing, the menu listed items as, this “or” that, rather than this “and” that. So it was a cooked breakfast or a yoghurt or something else, rather than cooked breakfast followed by yoghurt followed by something else. I ignored this and asked for what I wanted and they did actually provide it all without question so maybe the menu had just been badly designed. Toast was a bit thin and beans tasted like a cheap variety. However my wife choose the fresh fruit salad which she thought was excellent with good fresh ingredients. Clifden is a nice town with superb countryside a little further out. The location of the B&B within the town is fairly central and I’d be happy to stay here again if in the area, particularly because of the good helpful nature of the staff (who I suspect are a family running the place).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

The rooms in this very well maintained guest house were spacious , and light . Although it is close to the street all windows had double glazing so no chance of street noise.The breakfast menu was varied and I had the best fresh fruit salad with yoghurt that I had during my stay in ireland. it is only 1 minute walk to Clifdens main street . Bed was extremely comfortable. heavier curtains/blinds to block out the light in the early morining would have been appreciated. Good lounge area and use of computer.Owners helped us with our bags ( some stairs top floor). scrupulously clean .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Dun Ri is a perfect guesthouse for comfortable accomodation in the centre of town. Rooms are spacious, bed linen is of high quality and the mattresses are very comfortable. Added benefit is that breakfast is served until 1030 if you have had a heavy night on the Guiness! We left some lost property behind and they were more than happy to post it on to us as a gesture of goodwill.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

One of the best guesthouses we stayed at in 2 weeks in Ireland: peat fire, free internet, cozy livingroom with books and DVDs, welcoming hosts, great price (off season at least), beautiful wooden furniture in rooms. Lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambridgenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We were travelling around Ireland and stayed only at B&B accommodation throughout the trip. We stumbled across Dun Ri as we were driving through Clifden and chose it because the location was quiet and off the main road, but easy walking distance to Clifden town. The rooms are very spacious and decorated in a cosy antique style - Victorian or early 20th Century. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms fabulous - large bath and plenty of hot water. The lounge/sitting room was inviting, with big room chairs, books and fireplace. If I had the chance I definitely would have stayed longer. It was great value for money - we stayed in October at the end of the season and were really grateful to have come across this gem. Don't be put off by the size of it or the plain facade, inside is lovely. The owners live onsite. The breakfast was a full home cooked Irish breakfast, plus choice of cereals, fruit, juice the whole works. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The minute you walk in you feel at home! The big fireplace, the wooden floors, the rugs and armchairs! I stayed for one night but if I knew how cozy this place is I would have stayed longer. The room was immaculate, the bathroom very spacious and spotless and everything was so well looked after! Furniture, curtains even the china over breakfast was so tastefully chosen! Tasty breakfast with quite a bit of choice for a guesthouse!

As a place to stay it perfectly suits a little town as cute and homely as Clifden!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

45 Eur for one person for one night. The room was cold and small. The bathroom was ancient but in fairness it was a good shower, great water pressure. Bed clothes were ancient too.I have stayed in the station house hotel for roughly the same money at the same time of year. You have a pool there, better breakfast, better bathroom, warmth, free newspaper. Owners are a bit greedy on their price I think. I stay in Clifden a lot but won't be going back there.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank 09_04_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ri Guesthouse

Address: Clifden, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $78 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dun Ri Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal treatment—without paying a king’s ransom. Tucked away in our quiet corner of Clifden, we offer a tranquil haven of rich comfort and classic Irish hospitality—a peaceful refuge just 93 steps from the vibrant buzz of Clifden Town Centre. It’s the ideal location for you and your family to relax and recharge after a day exploring the breath-taking Connemara mountains and seascapes or touring Ireland’s beautiful West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dun Ri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing