We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”
Review of Dun Ri Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent one night. Loved the location, the room, the breakfast. Michael went above and beyond to help, beginning with carrying up my suitcase to helping me change out the fuse in the cigarette lighter of the car so I could use the GPS. Aileen made a delicious breakfast. The linens smelled very clean. And it was nice to walk to the restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaJa1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and it was superb. Aileen and Micheal do everything to make you stay a wonderful one. There is an abundance of choice for breakfast and the rooms are spacious with a lot of light. Two minutes from all the pubs and restaurants but quiet and peaceful. Will go back again as soon as possible.

Just a few restaurant recommendations. Would go to Cullane instead of Mitchell's, a more relaxing place where the Irish stew is enormous, a huge bubbling hot bowl that is the perfect meal to end a day of walking. For something other than pub food, would try Basmatti, at the end of Market St., fine, fine Indian food as a change. But if pub food is your pleasure, try the meat and Guinness stew at Guy's.

Have fun!
Roger

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger712603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'm sure what else to say. It was a nice guesthouse. We're slowly learning the ins and outs of B&Bs and I would say this was more like a hotel than a traditional B&B. There are 13 rooms and all require the ability to walk up stairs. We were in room 8, which was just fine.

The owner, Michael, was pleasant enough and helped with luggage when we arrived. Gave us the keys and a little book about the area, pointing out which pubs had live music.

The room itself was fine. We had a double + single and it was spacious enough for the two of us. There were some gross things on the walls though (looked like nose pickings)...so the cleaning folks need to work on that. Beds were a comfortable sleep though.

Bathroom was a standalone shower with good heat and pressure. The bathroom had shampoo and small bars of soap available. The nicest thing was a little shelf in the bathroom to put all your toiletries! And a little stool as well that was helpful.

We stayed 2 nights and everything was cleaned and made up on the second morning.

Breakfast was good. Made to order full Irish, but you can order only what you would actually like to eat. There was also a lounge, but no one was ever in it.

The guesthouse was only 2 blocks from the main town and there was free off street parking.

Would I stay again? Yes! But I think we prefer the smaller B&Bs. Unfortunately, those are harder to find right in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Basically, a large B&B or small guest house. The rooms were a little small but better than most B&Bs. The front desk staff (owner?) Michael (?) was friendly and helpful. He even carried my heavy suitcase (70 pounds) up the stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have stayed at Dun Ri on a number of ocassions and it's always fantastic. To be honest, I would put it before hotels in the town - have stayed in one of the hotels and would by far prefer Dun Ri. It's central, clean, and great value. Breakfast is great with a nice variety to choose from. Would highly recommend Dun Ri for your stay in Clifden.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evangemorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here in May and extended our stay from two days to five! Wonderful place, very friendly and helpful hosts, very comfortable room in a great location. We loved the town and its pubs. We took some great hikes in the mountains. We would go back to Dun Ri tomorrow if we could! Breakfast were delicious every morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulufar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse is lovely. Great location in Clifden, quite and clean. the only let down for me was the service. when we arrived we were left 45mins in the reception waiting for the owners to get back from the pub. when he came back he said the front door shouldn't have been left open for us. We didn't feel welcome. at breakfast the next morning one lady looked after us and it looked like it was her first day on the job........slow!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwaybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
2 mi away
Waterfront Rest B&B
Waterfront Rest B&B
#21 of 45 in Clifden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Ri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ri Guesthouse

Address: Clifden, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $62 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dun Ri Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal treatment—without paying a king’s ransom. Tucked away in our quiet corner of Clifden, we offer a tranquil haven of rich comfort and classic Irish hospitality—a peaceful refuge just 93 steps from the vibrant buzz of Clifden Town Centre. It’s the ideal location for you and your family to relax and recharge after a day exploring the breath-taking Connemara mountains and seascapes or touring Ireland’s beautiful West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dun Ri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing