We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sky Road

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ceasar071...
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house with everything you need. Mary the owner is very helpful. House was very clean. Would highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for a great review and for submitting it so promptly! Thank you for choosing my house for your stay in Clifden. You were fun to have around.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoHipHop...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It is difficult to fully describe what a wonderful stay we had at this location. We were a party of six - two from each of three generations . We felt very welcome in this home. Every interaction with the owner was a pleasure from the beginning. The home is absolutely beautiful, in a lovely setting and so well maintained - one of the most beautiful homes we have stayed in. We could not think of a single item, in any category, that was lacking in this home. The welcome pack provided for our arrival was wonderfully generous and all encompassing. Our only and biggest complaint is that our stay was too short ........ but we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful home with all amenities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Thank you for a great review. I truly enjoyed having you in my home and you certainly left it in great shape. It is very important to me that my guests enjoy their stay and their visit to this beautiful area so a warm, comfortable and well maintained house is essential. I look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S
1 review
“superb house, ticks all the boxes.”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely house with all mod cons and more, comfortable beds, quality throughout, linen, towels, bathroom products etc, did'nt need anything at all. Heating options x 2, solid fuel stoves (with coal /logs) and central heating all in. no hidden extras. Spacious garden and drive in, lovely views and location, outta town but near enough. Owner, Mary, very accomadating. would easily recommend. John

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2015
Thank you for a great review. It was a pleasure to have you stay here and you left the house in excellent condition. Your review is very important, we strive to provide quality service and your comfort and enjoyment is very important to us. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie m
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday again at Mary's”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have had several holidays at Mary's bungalow, the service cannot be faulted, it is excellent.
Mary has a lovely garden which we have never been able to enjoy, either because of the weather, ( at the time we have been there) or because we have chosen to do other things.
It is a real home from home and a nice place to 'spread around'. You get birds early in the morning and a lovely range of flowers in the garden.
If you are feeling energetic, it can be a nice twenty minute walk into Clifden, or a couple of minutes by car. (About a mile to town).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cup of tea on arrival
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the fortnight!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you for the great review, it is a pleasure to have you stay here.
I look forward to having you stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catialy
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked for one week. Mary was a fantastic host. The house is beautiful, stocked with everything you need. You only really need to bring/buyfood. The house was supper clean when we arrive. Mary welcomed us and showed us around. We definitely would book again. Thank you again for your warm welcome Mary.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
261Yorksh...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sky Road was home from home.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Sky Road property really was a a home from home. It is a spacious property with extensive views over the surrounding countryside. The owner, Mary, had gone to a lot of trouble to make sure that the property has absolutely everything that you need, and had gone the extra mile in providing provisions for our arrival, as well as fresh flowers. Everything was really clean. Although next to the road, the bungalow is raised up from the road, which was not too busy, and did not cause disturbance from passing traffic. However, the road was quite narrow in places, with no footpaths, so to walk into the village in the evening (about a mile) for food or entertainment could be a little daunting, especially on the return walk when it was dark. Make sure to take a torch and high-vis jacket if poss. However, the small town of Clifden is a delightful place with lots of individual shops, cafes and bars, very good places to eat, and excellent entertainment. Clifden is in a very picturesque setting, within easy reach of the mountains of the Connemara National Park and some sandy beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean and comfortable, and in a pleasant location.
Liked least: We had no dislikes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anwen K
Gwynedd, North Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

I booked this cottage for a week in August 2013 for myself, my son, his wife and her mother. When we arrived, Mary, the owner, was up to her neck in cleaning materials - after some unthinking, dirty so and sos went and left her lovely home in a filthy disgusting condition!! Anyway, after a short while, Mary, along with her sister's help, had the place spick and span.............with a welcome pack for us, and also a large bunch of lovely flowers, and mentioned should we get cold evenings, to light the fire!!! I mentioned the ubiquitous "bag of turf" which she didn't have, but, by the following day as if by magic - there it was - the turf, ready for me to make the fire, which, by the way, stayed alight in the hearth for 3 days!!! We had a wonderful holiday, visiting family, touring an area that I love so very very much, and would return to tomorrow - Slainte Mary - Go raibh maith agat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. How nice of you to remember us again this year. Your thank you note on your departure was very much appreciated. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing