We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have seen it”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifden Castle

Clifden Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.59*
and up
Cycling the Wild Atlantic Way - 1-Day Self Guided Tour from Clifden
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Clifden
Attraction details
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish we could have seen it”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were told to walk down to the castle. Well, we tried. We were run off by a man on a motorcycle. He stated that it was private property and we needed to leave. Thinking back, we should have told get to get bent, but we ended up turning back. Visit the local tourist office before heading this way to get the story straight.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenscout1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    28
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clifden's hidden gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You won't be disappointed if you make the effort to find Clifden castle. The ruined castle is situated less than ten minutes walk off the Sky Road. It isn't well signposted or marked on all maps but if you're unsure of where to find it, ask someone local or see my brief guide below*.

The castle was built by John D'Arcy, the founder of Clifden. It is now in ruins but a lot of the walls remain and it is in a picturesque setting, looking out across Clifden Bay. The land in and around the castle is uneven so take care when exploring, especially if you're taking children along.

*To reach the castle from Clifden - drive/walk along the Sky Road, past the sign to the D'Arcy Monument, until you reach what looks like the old castle gateway to the left of the Sky Road. Drivers should park here as the track down to the castle is unsuitable for most cars. From the gateway off the Sky Road it is a short (5-10 min) walk down to the castle ruins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This castle was very well presented, easy walking and lots to see. We took at least 60 pictures and a lot of video, so green.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was such an adventure! Its a little hike to get to and you cannot enter the ruins, but my goodness is it worth it! We hiked up from a trail at the boat club...it appears to be a restricted path (you have to climb a few fences), but just follow the coast for a bit and you'll see it. We even met a few cows along the way :-).
While we were there, one of the seven current owners of what was the original piece of land happened to be there and stayed with us for over an hour for a little history lesson. He was fantastic as was the castle and stables.
What a fantastic excursion!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 29Jess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful, pictersque castle ruins set in the rugged landscape of Connemara! Visited while we were staying at the Clifden Station House Hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank robroyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifden Castle also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Clifden Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing