We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
Review of Clifden Castle

Clifden Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.75*
and up
Electric Biking Tour on the Wild Atlantic Way - 1-Day Self Guided
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Clifden
Attraction details
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This castle was very well presented, easy walking and lots to see. We took at least 60 pictures and a lot of video, so green.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    29
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was such an adventure! Its a little hike to get to and you cannot enter the ruins, but my goodness is it worth it! We hiked up from a trail at the boat club...it appears to be a restricted path (you have to climb a few fences), but just follow the coast for a bit and you'll see it. We even met a few cows along the way :-).
While we were there, one of the seven current owners of what was the original piece of land happened to be there and stayed with us for over an hour for a little history lesson. He was fantastic as was the castle and stables.
What a fantastic excursion!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 29Jess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful, pictersque castle ruins set in the rugged landscape of Connemara! Visited while we were staying at the Clifden Station House Hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank robroyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting,NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Muddy, but marvelous!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As many have noted, this is a trip that warrants boots. I stayed at the Hillside Lodge and they provided some nice high boots for the trek. It was about a 10-15 minute stroll from Sky Road entrance. You pass sheep and cows along a dirt path that often gets wetter as you descend. I went late at night on an overcast night, but it was still worth the venture. Some areas were about 7 inches deep mud. Marvelous sight with some great views.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADJaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too muddy to actually get to castle”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I visited Clifden in early August. We had a very pleasant walk to the castle. However when we got there the road became so muddy that it was not possible to actually get to the castle. If you are going wear high boots that can sink in the mud. There are no facilities here. The castle is in ruin and has been abandoned.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DWfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifden Castle also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Clifden Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing