We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Rockmount House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockmount House
Ranked #14 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Metz, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Rockmount House in May 2012. The house is very nice, our room was very large and comfortable. Warm welcome from the hosts! From the garden you may walk right to the shores. The Sky Road totaly worth it; as does Clifden and the Connemara!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Rockmount house is a clean, nice and peaceful guesthouse, a very friendly service and a beautiful coast! We enjoyed!
We also recommend the Indian restaurant in the center of Clifden. The food was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Comfortable family room for 4 (2 adults, 2 kids). We didn't have enough time to visit the Cliffs of Moher but these cliffs were breathtaking and the view was beautiful nonetheless. Plus, we had our own special escort, Lady, the collie ! After our whirlwind vacation across Ireland, it was nice to relax in such a beautiful place and comfortable home. The grounds have their own lovely path to the cliffs with wildflowers. The neighboring pastures with grazing sheep was picturesque. Traditional breakfast, delicious ! We enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend, family friendly ! Great Dog !!!

Room Tip: Have kids, great place - Lady, the collie and trampoline in backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcdUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

incredible scenic location with cliffs in the garden, wonderful B & B and very warm hospitality, greatly suggested !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio_Pigliucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falster, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My sister and I got a warm welcome, hot tea and ginger cookies was just what we needed.

The place and the view from the room was just perfect!! Close to Clifden for dinner and yet totally out where the sky meets the sea!

Also a good base for taking trips in The Connemara National Park, we stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaAlstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights there and were lucky with beautiful weather. Enjoyed very much : good situation, "appalling" lower and higher sky road to get there : never to be missed. Paddy and Anne are very welcoming. A pleasure to be with them. Clean, comfortable, much light (cuz large windows). A walk on the trail cliffs is possible from their house : we did it. Really worth it. Excellent breakfast with 4 different choices : all good. This is an address we'll remember and may be go back.

Room Tip: don't remember the number but it was at the backside of the house, looking at the bay. Super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARVET J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here in June 2008 and this review is long past due. This B and B is a real find with the cliffs in the "backyard" and Lady the dog to keep you company. It is located on the lower part of the Sky Road and is such a wonderful find. We only stayed here one night, but if we ever have a chance we will return. Take a bottle of wine and some cheese and spend the afternoon on the cliffs...it is an expereince you will never forget. The rooms, baths and beds are comofrtable and the breakfast is your typical Irish spread.

Room Tip: Rooms in back of the house have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
209 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
359 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#9 of 45 in Clifden
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount House

Property: Rockmount House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockmount House is situated on the scenic sky road, and offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean.situated 5 km from Clifden, with a private walking trail to the cliffs at the back of the house. convenient to all local amenities. Breakfast menu and warm welcome assured. Free WiFi access. Guide du routard recommend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rockmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing