We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we could ask for in beautiful locatio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
1 review
“everything we could ask for in beautiful locatio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Happened upon this gem in clifden. Eileen was so accomodating to our teenager my husband and I. The rooms were very well appointed and very clean. Loved the rain shower head. Thankyou Eileen for a wonderful stay. Kerry Bob and Emily from seattle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    46
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
195
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Get location walking distance to shops etc. The rooms very clean and spacious, The staff very friendly and informative . The food freshly cook and prompt service. Well done Eileen / staff working well with the community

Room Tip: The room facing the street good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 866c_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in Ben View as part of a group of Horseback riders for three nights The Inn is updating and the rooms are charming. We were in # 7 with a new shower and bath, clean and spacious-- all you need. I understand that not all of the rooms are as spacious, but did not really check on them. The location worried us as it was a on a main street, but the traffic ceased after dark and the nights were lovely and quiet. And we could walk the whole town. Clifden is a fun town!
People rave about the pancakes and they are very good. But I will rave about the local smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. They are served separately and the salmon is some of the best I have had. Many choices are nice at a B and B.
But the real find is the Inn Keeper. I had a stiff back and asked for a hot water bottle, It came boiling hot. We asked about printing out boarding passes for Ryan Air She came through. She also checked twice on the taxi that was needed. And I think she knew that some of the apples might have been for the horses.
Inn Keepers could take lessons from Eileen.

Room Tip: Loved Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After researching a good few places to stay we came across Ben View House and were taken in by the good location and reasonable rates - we were sold on the option of pancakes for breakfast, all in all a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chele530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Perfect service ! Good breakfast (full Irish or more if you want) ! Good advices if you need it ! Close from city centre ! Confortable room ! Like I said...everything perfect ! Near from the Connemara National park !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickS_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberstammheim, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in Ben View House for the second time. Very warm welcome although we were all wearing our dirty riding boots. Rooms were a bit small, but functional and pleasantly quiet. Beds were big and very comfortable, bathroom was impeccably clean, well equipped and warm. Beautiful dining room with a stunning collection of antiques and silverware. Breakfast (pancakes!!!!) is an absolute highlight! Looking forward to our next stay with Eileen and Desmond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved it , if your going to clifden you have to stay here .Taking part in the tour de connamara over two days ,had a great time ,Des and Eileen are true ambassadors of Irish hospitality " we will.be back"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Property: Ben View House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing