We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat B&B”
Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed just for one night, but must admit that the B&B is superb: the house is very nice and cosy and the owner is welcoming and of an incredible kindness. The breakfast is delicious. Moreover the location is just perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our wonderful honeymoon week in beautiful Ireland was made perfect by our final 2 nights with a stay in Ben View House Clifden. Although all the previous hotels we visited were very good, Ben View outshone them all. A beautiful spotless bedroom with such lovely antique furniture, the bed as soft as a cloud. A breakfast so large - I should have been ashamed of it! and all this for 80 euros per night per double room. The dining room is a treasure of polished silver teapots, old family photographs and pretty plates and what not. On leaving (with regret) our host Eileen presented us with a parcel. Upon opening, we found 2 Irish, decorative mugs and a wedding card. We were thrilled and touched to say the least. It`s the little kindnesses that matter in life, (like the posies of rosies on our bedside table too). A pleasure to right this review as unfortunately I have used T.A on more than one occasion to warn others to avoid a particular establishment like the plague!

Room Tip: we were in room 8. Superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I spent a couple of times in this wonderful B&B in Clifden. Eileen and her brother are so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, especially the pancakes. The atmosphere is familiar and the rooms are very comfortable with a nice shower. It was brilliant to stay there for a couple of nights, because I rode the famous Connemara Trail (horseback) in Ireland and this B&B is located in the heart of Clifden and close to the beach in Ballyconneely where the horses spend the nights. To everyone who wants to spend a very good time in Clifden, I can recommend this B&B 100% !!! I'll be back, soon !!!

Best regards from Germany,
Linda

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited the Charming Ben View House for the second time recently and was greeted warmly by both Eileen and her Brother Desmond.
Ben View house has charming atmosphere and an exellent location in the town center and we give it our best recommendations.
I cannot imagine a trip to Ireland without a stay at Ben View House :-) so to you Eileen and Desmond we will see you next time.

Greetings Christina and Magnus, Denmark

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I spent just one night in this b&b, but the warm host Ben is so hospital that you feel like at home. Don't miss the tipical irish breakfast prepared by two old ladies which know the secret of iris cuisine. Our room was small but cozy and nice. The dining room is traditional, The position is excellent, at the end of one of the two main streets in Clifden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Eileen and her brother are perfect hosts.....so friendly and helpful...certainly better than the tourist information office!!!! Lovely comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast in a charming diningroom filled with antiques and speacial things. Eileen's pancake and fruit breakfast is a winner. Easy walking distance to eateries and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night in September. It was lovely. Eileen and her brother could not have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and the breakfast superb. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a charming B&B. The only issue is that there is only onstreet parking but, for us, it wasn't a problem. As it is located in the town centre, it is easy to find and within walking distance of a good array of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $92 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing