We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Clifden B&B”
Review of Hillside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a very comfortable place to stay while visiting Clifden. The rooms are very clean. Breakfast was delicious! Located directly across from access to a walking trail to Clifden Castle. (Be sure to use the boots provided near the front door! The path is often very muddy!) The hosts were not really around much while we stayed there, but Ruth was very pleasant and helpful when we met her. The house, as noted in several reviews, is FULL of music memorabilia. We stayed in room 6. It was nice to have the TV room. My wife took a nap while I watched some TV in the seperate room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADJaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful place, comfortable, clean, great view, fantastic breakfast, great hosts, and brilliant also for music geeks! Location was good, just outside town on the scenic Sky Road. Managed to get the Beatles room, very interesting.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank garkilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hillside is absolutely spotlessly clean. The decor is unique & quirky while being homely. Stuart & Ruth were very kind & helpful when my husband was unwell & unfortunately our stay had to be cut short. We would recommend Hillside to our friends. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

No chintzy décor, a quality breakfast and walls crammed with unique memorabilia of the world’s biggest rock bands… why can’t all B&B’s be like this?

Our stay at the Hillside Lodge was thoroughly relaxing. The owners have done their utmost to make it warm and welcoming place to be.

You could happily spend a whole day there watching DVD’s (which you can borrow from an extensive library), reading the interesting books available, or strumming a bodrum in the lounge.

Which you may well have to do if the weather is anything like as bad as when we stayed there.

Quick tip: go for the pancakes at breakfast, they’re delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

For the first time, or returning visitor a rare treat awaits you. The Hillside Lodge House has been lovingly refurbished to an exceptionally high standard. Luxurious accommodation for 3 nights was followed by a splendid breakfast. It was Malcolm and mine good fortune to stay at the Hillside Lodge. Ruth is an excellent host and this B & B is a credit to her.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krakow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms were very clean and breakfast was good. The B&B is right by the path to the Clifden Castle so me and my wife borrowed the complimentary mountain bikes and had a nice ride down to the castle. Although the B&B is somewhat far from town so we found it more convenient to drive and just park at the grocery store since there was always open places to park there.

I would like to mention that all but one of the rooms don't have a tv so if you get stuck inside due to bad weather make sure you bring a tablet or something to read. The walls are also very thin and we could hear our neighbors talking very clearly as well as when they showered or were using the bathroom. If I were to stay here again I would definitely choose the deluxe room which is at the corner of the house by itself and also has a separate sitting room with direct tv.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room as it is the quietest room since you don't share walls with anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights...and had 3 rooms because we were a family of 5. I don't know exactly what it was about the place, but we were all so "comfortable" :) The food was delicious...Ruth and Molly were lovely. The views if the fields from our room were gorgeous. The town of Clifden, itself, was great...we went pony trekking on the beach, enjoyed shopping and Irish music in the town, drove to Kylemore Abby and Connemara National Park.

Room Tip: Eat at Mitchell's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oafaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
3.9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.6 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
125 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $93 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Bed and Breakfast located on the scenic Sky Road, five minutes from Clifden town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing