We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful B&B in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Ranked #12 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longboat Key
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful B&B in Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights toward the end of May. The Sea Mist is a perfect place to visit the small town of Clifden. The B&B is located in a quiet part, at the end of town. It is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures, very comfortable and all rooms have a view of the town. Don't miss Clifden and stay at the Sea Mist, one of our best stays in Ireland.

Room Tip: From what we could see most of them had views to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scjensenlbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

A 'real' house where you feel totally at home. Perfect location and setting. Prices are very very reasonable, the owners are most friendly and the staff is most welcoming. Breakfast in the magic conservatory is really something. We had a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGSEABRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently on a weekend away.
The location and setting is ideal, right in the heart of the town. Still the house was lovely and quiet.
We were happy with the room,(although we did find the ensuite a little on the small side)and certainly the price was fair and on par with other B & B's we have stayed in.
There was 2 lovely receptions rooms for guests to sit and watch TV, or to read a book. Food provided was very good with a good selection of cooked food and lovely breads,fruit salad, yoghurt etc. We certainly left with our bellies full!!!!!
Overall a good experience and happy customers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LocalGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from spending 3 nights here. Sheila, Rod and Chrissy were top notch hosts, and the location is terrific, an easy 5 minute walk to the restaurants and pubs. They have parking for just 3 cars but they had us park across the street when needed in a lot owned by another property (but that arrangement sounds temporary; otherwise, it's street parking where you'll have to pay during the day (when we wouldn't have been there anyway as we were out sightseeing).

We had the large upstairs room facing the street. Just lovely. All the modern amenities are provided which is impressive considering the age of the house. They are doing construction on the street in front but the windows are sound proof, or so it seemed because we weren't disturbed. That project should be ending soon. Didn't hear any neighbors either. Great breakfast in an airy, beautiful room.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planestrainsnautos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Not only are you staying in a 200+ year old building, but the rooms are bright, the garden is lovely, breakfast is delicious, and the sitting room with it's fireplace is the perfect resting spot after a day of exploring the Connemara region. Sheila and Rod are wonderful hosts! It's right in town, so easy to park the car and explore town center on foot. So happy we chose to stay here for 2 nights!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a really nice stay at this B&B, actually deciding to stay a second night here to explore the surrounding area. The owners are very nice. The room was light and airy, with a good en-suite. The cooked breakfast was fabulous, accompanied by a range of fruit, jams, yoghurts and breads to choose from. We were sorry to leave and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The place is as reviews note, all good. Also, well located on main street across from grocery so convenient as well. We stayed recently however, and though it's no fault of the innkeepers, were there while the street is being torn up and re-paved. Heavy machinery early to late, so no sleeping past 7, and even to spend time peacfully reading or resting up for more exploration was difficult. Temporary only, but if you'd be sensitive to it then perhaps call to ask ahead, it can't go on forever! A sharp contrast to Inns we've stayed before, there were no guides for walks or preferred restaurants...they encouraged us to walk around - nice enough, but difficult in the rain, and with kids. Were I to go again, I'd have everything lined up rather than relying on recommendations. FYI - walk to Clifden Castle is at least a mile and road is windy and a bit dangerous given narrow passage. Also, the property is apparently not public, as while we were walking to the ruin and owner on moped came down to ask our business -he was lovely and let us continue, but he didn't have to. This detail isn't noted on tripadvisor, and the Innkeepers didn't advise either but all was well as we were able to hike through anyhow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenl372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Property: Sea Mist House
Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing