We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Ranked #8 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellently maintained premises, fantastic Irish homely welcome. A variety of breakfasts to suit all tastes. Evening turf fire to relax in front of. Spotlessley clean throughout. Something for everybody in the in-house library. Less than 100metres from the town square and pub life/entertainment, and next door to Bank of Ireland. Well worth the €160 for a two night, two person double room stay. How could things be any better. In my top two B&B's in the whole world. I'll be back soon, and that's a promise.

Kindest Regards, SK.

Room Tip: All rooms top class, with quality, meticulousley, period restored and maintained decor throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a recent trip to Clifden and were recommended to the Sea Mist B&B by the owner of a local pottery studio. Shiela was very kind and helpful, the B&B was extremely comfortable, clean and relaxing! Very convenient to all of the pubs, shops and restaurants downtown. Breakfast was a wonderful experience, a lovely dining room overlooking the garden. Shiela made a great full breakfast with poached egg for my wife and my vegetarian breakfast of potato cake, mushrooms and tomato was out of this world! fresh juice, fantastic coffee! One evening we purchased a bottle of wine down the street at the market and enjoyed a visit with one of the other guests in the living room in front of a peat fire. We will definitely return to Clifden and when we do, we will stay at the Sea Mist!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmooreirtrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Of course, it's near everything, it's charming, and the price is right. That's all obvious from a distance. But unless you stay here, you can't appreciate the amazing breakfast room with the garden blooming just outside the windows, the warm fires in the evenings, the spotless and comfortable rooms, and not least, Sheila and her husband's terrific hospitality. This is all that an Irish b&b should be, and that's saying something in a country with countless wonderful guest houses. Sea Mist House is simply a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinMan49505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a charming and comfortable place to stay. I spent one night there when passing through, and it was just like home. Very clean and cozy, Sheila was great, and breakfast was yummy. I would definitely stay there again. And Clifden is a great little town, just needed more time to explore it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from two week trip to Ireland and my wife and I spent 2 nights in Clifden.The Sea Mist is a must stay. Shiela warmly introduced us to the inn and gave us many helpful recommendations. Were there during the Clifden Arts Festival and the location of the inn is perfect to enjoy the town. It is in town, just one block from the shops and pubs, but in a quiet location. The Sky Road, a wonderfully senic drive, begins out the front door. Beautiful bedroom and charming, comfortable living rooms. The breakfast room is exceptional and the breakfast selection, preparation and service exceptional as well. As this was my 18th trip to Ireland, I have sampled a great variety of B&Bs and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loupow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just perfect!
Lovely host, warm welcome, beautiful rooms, tasty breakfast, scrambled egg decorated with eatable lovely flower.
Situated at the end of main road; close to pubs, restaurants, shops and city center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Just knocked on the door because it looked so cute. Booked in 80 euros then checked trip adviser to confirm that we had done the right thing. Bingo!!!!
It was perfect and so close to town like out the front door and turn left 10 feet away. Breakfast was so delightful in the conservatory. You look out on the cottage garden. Perfect. Wished we had stayed longer. The hosts made all the difference. You felt at home straight away. Don't go by this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Rest B&B
Waterfront Rest B&B
#21 of 45 in Clifden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing