We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A model B & B”
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Ranked #9 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sea Mist House is a lovely place. Our room was large and quiet, despite facing the street. Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 191 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had only one night at Sea Mist but it was one of our best nights in Ireland. The town of Clifden is charming, the area is beautiful, and the Sea Mist was wonderful. I would love to be able to return for several days. The room was lovely and breakfast was great. It was only a short stroll to the town's main street where we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at The Moorings and visited several pubs - Mannion's, King's, and Lowry's. We enjoyed traditional music and Lowry's. This is a perfect location to explore the Connemara area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyo62003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Sea Mist during our bike tour of Western Ireland with Iron Donkey. It was one of our favorites. Charming lodging, comfortable cozy room, nice art on the walls, delicious breakfasts. Sheila is a great host! Very convenient location for walking into Clifden for dinner or entertainment.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really nice and well kept house. Really close form the center of the town yet it wasn't noisy.
Welcoming staff. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiiikouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Sea Mist B&B is simply wonderful. We had room 2, a double room with bow window and a walk-in closet.
We have been welcomed by a bottle of water, tea and coffee.
The bathroom is wonderful, and the room is simply perfect, clean and with lovely old-fashioned furniture. Even if it was a little cold at the beginning the owner took care of that immediately.
The fireplace room is cozy and relaxing, in its fair colors.
Breakfast was very good.

Suggestion: if you want to visit the Connemara but also stay in a "city" (Clifden), don't miss this wonderful B&B. I'd recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostinFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Sea Mist while on a bicycle tour with Iron Donkey. It was one of the highlights of a fabulous vacation! Our rooms were comfortable, beautiful, airy, and spotlessly clean. Our breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Everyone we met there from the proprietor to the staff were friendly and helpful. Sheila is a gem, very welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OIW0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A brilliant B&B in a beautiful building, perfectly placed in the beautiful village of Clifden. The breakfasts are amazing and rooms are really nicely decorated, with high ceilings and very comfortable beds.... there is a slight drawback... it's an old house and noise travels, breakfast is very strickly timed up to 9.30am only, which is a shame, as not everyone on holidays should feel compelled to get out of bed at 9am.... also, as it's an old house the noise from the breakfast room travels, so being wakened by the owner speaking quite loudly at 8am and playing Dire Straits loudly will probably mean we'll stay in a different establishment next time, which is a real pity.... so all they'd need to do, is loosen up on the breakfast, and consider that people on holiday are often in need of peace and quite, and they'd have the most amazing B&B in Ireland.

Room Tip: go for the rooms right on the top floor for a bit of quiet.... unless a few flights of stairs bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfront Rest B&B
Waterfront Rest B&B
#21 of 45 in Clifden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing