We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in great location!”
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in great location!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at the Sea Mist during our bike tour of Western Ireland with Iron Donkey. It was one of our favorites. Charming lodging, comfortable cozy room, nice art on the walls, delicious breakfasts. Sheila is a great host! Very convenient location for walking into Clifden for dinner or entertainment.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really nice and well kept house. Really close form the center of the town yet it wasn't noisy.
Welcoming staff. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiiikouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Sea Mist B&B is simply wonderful. We had room 2, a double room with bow window and a walk-in closet.
We have been welcomed by a bottle of water, tea and coffee.
The bathroom is wonderful, and the room is simply perfect, clean and with lovely old-fashioned furniture. Even if it was a little cold at the beginning the owner took care of that immediately.
The fireplace room is cozy and relaxing, in its fair colors.
Breakfast was very good.

Suggestion: if you want to visit the Connemara but also stay in a "city" (Clifden), don't miss this wonderful B&B. I'd recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Sea Mist while on a bicycle tour with Iron Donkey. It was one of the highlights of a fabulous vacation! Our rooms were comfortable, beautiful, airy, and spotlessly clean. Our breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Everyone we met there from the proprietor to the staff were friendly and helpful. Sheila is a gem, very welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OIW0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A brilliant B&B in a beautiful building, perfectly placed in the beautiful village of Clifden. The breakfasts are amazing and rooms are really nicely decorated, with high ceilings and very comfortable beds.... there is a slight drawback... it's an old house and noise travels, breakfast is very strickly timed up to 9.30am only, which is a shame, as not everyone on holidays should feel compelled to get out of bed at 9am.... also, as it's an old house the noise from the breakfast room travels, so being wakened by the owner speaking quite loudly at 8am and playing Dire Straits loudly will probably mean we'll stay in a different establishment next time, which is a real pity.... so all they'd need to do, is loosen up on the breakfast, and consider that people on holiday are often in need of peace and quite, and they'd have the most amazing B&B in Ireland.

Room Tip: go for the rooms right on the top floor for a bit of quiet.... unless a few flights of stairs bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Sea Mist House made my holiday. We were greeted by the lovely Sheila, who was very warm and made us feel so welcome. The room was spotless, light and sunny, with views of the water. Very comfortable bed, with plush linen. The breakfast was the best I experienced in Ireland hands down, right down to the flowers that were added to the plate for decoration. Very homely and cute, with amazing gardens, home away from home. Would highly recommend Sea Mist House and I would happily live there! Michaela and Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorePlease11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

very welcoming, lovely stone house, lots of room, close to lively town centre, the sky road and connemara. tasteful and interesting decour, gourmet breakfast but no telly in the room. but who needs telly when you are staying in this fantastic area,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
1.1 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Property: Sea Mist House
Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing