We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Gentile guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallmore Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #6 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
old windsor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Gentile guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay here has been outstanding, the views are stunning with the gardens drifting down to the estuary.
rooms were generously proportioned with a quiet sitting area for reading or having a glass of wine.
Our room had a corkscrew and bottle opener, so helpful, thanks, they let me use their washing line, thanks.
breakfasts were stunning, really excellent.
Guest lounge had tea making facilities, books and a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annafoxell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
168
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently visited the beautiful area of Connemara on the west coast of Ireland which in itself is Highly recommended. Based on Trip advisor reviews we booked Mallmore House in Clifden for 3 nights. We only wished we could have stayed longer . If you are looking for comfort , cleanliness , wonderful kind hospitality in a beautiful country house in a serene setting then Mallmore is definitely for you. Its only a 20 min stroll into the great town of Clifden with its terrific restaurants and Traditional Irish music bars, what more could anyone want.?
Kathleen, Alan and Siobhan are wonderful hosts and Kathleen cooks a great Irish breakfast whilst Siobhan delivers it with a lovely Irish smile every morning, nothing is too much trouble. We cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: There isn't a Bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobhYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, it means a lot to hear such nice things. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a grand building with very large, well-furnished rooms with stunning views, modern bathrooms, and a grand yet welcoming sitting area. The location could not be better - on the edge of Connemara National Park and close to the charming village of Clifden. The proprietress, Kathleen, is wonderfully helpful, and her daughter Siobhan helps her with the preparation of the magnificent breakfasts. The only minor problem is that in summer midges come swarming into the room through the screen-less bathroom windows. But this is truly minor - we would love to come back here for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wow! I had read the reviews on tripadvisor and wondered if it really could be that good and believe me it is! A stunning setting with incredible views from the bedrooms of the bay and gorgeous comfortable rooms and bathrooms.
We were welcomed by Kathleen who is lovely and cannot do enough to make your stay fabulous. The lounge is delightful and the woodburner made it feel very cosy and you can help yourself to tea/coffee and biscuits.
Breakfast was superb with a great mix of fresh fruits, homemade bread and scones and we ate freshly made pancakes with a warm fruit compote and creme fraiche. Others were tucking into a full irish breakfast which looked equally delicious. The dining room is just as beautiful as the lounge and creates a relaxing and welcoming feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we really hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The best B&B in Ireland! The welcome from Kathleen and Siobhan is wonderful, the rooms and beds could not be better and the setting is lovely. Our window looked out on the garden and the Clifden bay beyond. We stayed three nights and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask to look out on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichealCanaole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Just a little note to say thank you very much for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Mallmore House. It is very close to Clifden yet it is secluded and set in its own beautiful grounds. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and tastefully individual in its decor. It had a large picture window looking out over the gardens and the landscape beyond. The breakfast was delicious - better than any I have had in five star hotels. And the care and attention to detail is evident in every aspect of this wonderful place. Kathleen and her family are very welcoming and helpful yet seem to instinctively understand the balance between being there for the guests whilst acknowledging the need for privacy and freedom of movement. As I said in the summarising heading for this review - flawless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyBirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect place to spend the last couple of our holiday. We were welcomed by Siobhan and had tea & biscuits in the sitting room before going to our room. Which was beautiful. I inquired about a place to go horseback riding and within minutes Siobhan had me booked at The Point to go riding on the beaches. Mallmore is a dream, so comfortable and relaxing. The food, amazing! Kathleen and her family are wonderful hosts, who care so much for their beautiful home! We'll be back again someday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#5 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Property: Mallmore Country House
Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing