We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic Clifden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallmore Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #6 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scenic Clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Connemara is indeed a beautiful place, just like what the Visit Connemara brochures say, and Mallmore Country House is a wonderful B+B. it took us more than half an hour to find it after we have arrived in Clifden. It did not help that the usually reliable Google Map mis-identify the exact location. We were ovejoyed when we drove into Mallmore House and we were delighted when we were shown our bedrooms.
The bedrooms were bright, spacious and spotlessly clean. The welcoming afternoon tea and scones and muffins were delicious. Not only is the landlady Siobhan a pretty lass she is also a very accomplished chef. For diner she recommended us to a wonder restaurant Mitchell's. We are so pleased with Mallmore House that we will consider a repeat visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view of the garden and a hint of the Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blossomvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
168
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B in Clifden, Ireland. It was wonderful. The location is superb with a great view of the bay and the town of Clifden in the distance. The rooms are all spacious and en suite. The sitting room is large and affords a great place to relax and meet up with friends. The breakfast was worthy of a five star restaurant and was served by a wonderful young woman . I would recommend this B&B highly and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Owner at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, hopefully we will see you back here again. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mallmore Country House on March 26 and 27. All of our B&B's on our 19 day Ireland trip were wonderful (thanks to Tripadvisor reviews), but Mallmore House was probably the most magical. The setting is so special. It feels secluded, yet you are only a few minutes to Clifden. Driving in to Mallmore House sets the tone, down a lane with arching tree canopy. Donna describes our first glimpse of Mallmore House in her diary "Winding up the narrow lane with rock walls alongside and pulling up to a white pillared house with a bright red door was breath taking." Beautiful view from our room, and the sitting room. The house is historical, and has been lovingly renovated by Kathleen and Al with many antiques and treasures scattered throughout the house from their travels to Egypt, the orient, Europe, Asia. Delicious breakfasts in a lovely dining room. Kathleen was warm and gracious, and we so enjoyed meeting Siobhan, her daughter, who served us breakfast in the morning. Great recommendations on things to do (we drove Sky View drive, and hiked to the top of Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park, and visited the village of Roundstone on the day we left - all close to Mallmore Country House). Good recommemdations for dinner too, good pub meal at E.J. Kings with early music as a bonus, and Dinner at Marconi’s in Clifden – the best mussels we have ever had as an appetizer, big bowl of mussels in a fabulous sweet/hot coconut milk sauce. Thank you Kathleeen and Siobhan for a very memorable stay in Connemara at Mallmore Country house!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan H, Owner at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was such a pleasure meeting you both and hopefully we will see you again. Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our arrival in Connemara couldn't be more magical. Staying at Mallmore House is somehow like diving into a past of dreams, but with all the modern comforts. This gorgeous country house keeps all the original flavour of its Georgian architecture, adding a sober and harmonious renovation in every room and a touch of class with pieces of furniture and furnishings elegantly chosen. Our room was very large and comfortable, with a charming beau-window looking onto the vast back garden - a park, indeed - gently sloping to the lake. Explore it, you'll enjoy a great view of Clifden! Atmosphere is the word to describe it. Not to mention the huge living room with fireplace and the delightsome dining hall filled with warm natural light where we had a rich breakfast totally "Irish style". The service provided was just perfectly in tune with all this, and the two sisters who run the house were always very kind and attentive with any guest. Congratulations, go on like this! We'd come back anytime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent a night at Mallmore House with my boyfriend a few months ago. We both agree the place seriously looks and feels like a 5 star hotel, only without the room service (which we didn't want and didn't miss anyway). It's a bit outside of Clifden, so you'd probably need a car to get there, but it's so, so worth it. First of all, it seems to be located in the middle of a park. The rooms are large, the bathroom big, the shower gives plenty of hot water. Everything is really clean and well-looked after. The decor in the sitting room is amazing. And the breakfast...well, you really have to try it (I had the pancakes and I'm still talking about them months later). We'll do our best to be back here, and back to Connemara, as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place we stayed on a recent 5 week trip to Europe and in many ways it was the best. The house, the setting, the hospitality are outstanding. We stayed for only 3 nights and wished it could have been 3 weeks.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic accommodation and fantastic service! Best brekkies in Ireland! Most accommodating owners of b&b in Ireland - and we've been to many! Can highly recommend. Could not fault and will happily return some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Property: Mallmore Country House
Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing