We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is a olde style place in the middle of town, near to everything. If you want ultra-modern chique, look elsewhere. If you can put up with minor blemishes in presentation, a little paint missing here or there, or a bit of worn carpet, and regard good sized rooms, good breakfast and efficient staff as adequate compensation, then it's worth a go.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank holytrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

Not impressed. I took a very nasty fall on the stairs and when this was brought to the attention of the management they seemed wholly unconcerned despite the fact that I had been taken to hospital as a precaution. Avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingjack18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Foyles Hotel for one night last Tuesday and we liked the atmosphere. The hotel is old, but nicely decorated. No elevator, but who cares with 2 stories. As a guest we were allowed to have the diner for Early Bird price the whole evening. The food in the Restaurant (Marconi) was good and the service friendly. The reception was friendly. Free wifi internet (at 3 Mbs!!).
The hotel is situated in the middle of the town on the marketsquare.
If you visit Clifden and want an nice hotel for a reasonable price, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffy1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at Foyles hotel for one night during the 2009 June Bank Holiday weekend. The location is excellent, in the middle of the town and close to all the pubs and restaurants. The building is quaint and charming: you won't find the latest in-room conveniences there, but some character and very friendly staff. The room was spacious and comfortable, although the water in the bathroom was lukewarm rather than hot.
Breakfast was lovely, offering a nice menu that included some fish options.
The hotel bar, Mullarkey's, is very cosy and buzzing. A jazz and blues festival was being held, and we saw a very fine jazz gig free of charge there.
I'd recommend Foyles Hotel to those who appreciate something a little different from contemporary style hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChocFrog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed at Foyles for 2 nights. We drove from dublin and did not arrive until 9pm. I was concerned as we hoped to be their earlier and it was out in the country. This was not a problem. The lady on reception was their she quickly gave us the key and asked if we wanted to eat in the restaurant as she would let them know we were coming. The room was quite large, as the hotel is old it had a lovely romantic feel about it with their old furnishings and photos. The restauarant food was lovely and the hotel was very quiet. The town itself is small but has quite a few restaurants to eat in. Breakfast was a full hot breakfast if required and was very nice. We had a lovely time travelling around the countryside in the day and making Clifden our base. I also believe you get value for your money. Their is also parking but you need to park on the street and pay for metered parking. It is about one euro for 2 hourse between 11 and 6 pm. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROAMING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

A walking group of 7 40+ men descended into Clifden and checked in at Foyles with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews on this site.
We loved every minute of it. Great position, charming management and staff and hotel was perfectly clean and tidy.
Its not your Four Seasons or Hyatt type but its not claiming to be. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonmj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed at Foyles Hotel last weekend and had a very pleasant stay. It is
an older style hotel with old features, but that is what makes it stand out
from the rest. The bedroom was very comfortable, with a large double bed.
Breakfast was huge and kept us going all day until dinner time. The staff
were very nice,especially the tall man in the restaurant. Looking forward
to returning in near future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $95 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing