We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd year in a row - still love it!”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2nd year in a row - still love it!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stumbled upon Foyle's Hotel last May during our first trip to Ireland and we loved it. As Connemara is our favorite area of Ireland, we scheduled a night this May at Foyle's. We weren't disappointed. Surprisingly, without asking for it or prior knowledge on their part, Foyle's put us in the exact same room as last year! It was still immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed, a cool old wardrobe, and a claw-footed tub (with shower guard). The breakfast was excellent (as it was last year). The croissants melt in your mouth! Yes, this hotel is over 200 years old and if you want the "modern look" of a standard hotel, this probably isn't for you. However, it has character, charm, history, and the staff is friendly and efficient. Plus, the location is perfect. We love this place and will definitely be back. (Maybe we'll try a different room next time!) :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    106
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
47
130
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a weekend away as gift for my husbands 60th, he had never been to Connemara. We loved Foyles, it is a bit dated but that's what I loved about it. Breakfast was great, I arrived down early one morning (the staff were still setting up) but I was able to sit down with my book and was given coffee and toast while I waited. We had the best nights sleep we've ever had in an Hotel anywhere. Will go back again later in the year.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the hotel is a bit worn, but it retains it's 200 year old character and the friendly, helpful staff and great breakfast more than compensate for some worn furnishings and occasional glitches (e.g., power went out on one side of our room, which was quickly fixed). Oh, and the price was the best we found in central Clifden the night we stayed. Our only complaint was that the wi-fi was sporadic, as it worked fine for a while and then "acted up" and we couldn't get online at all in our room (111) at night. Even so, we would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently took a weekend away with friends and stayed in Foyles Hotel. We had a great time, great staff and a wonderful atmosphere...a bit like staying at your grannies.

A great breakfast (although finishes early 10am), did see some arrive late and nobody was turned away.

Evening entertainment was great in Mullarkeys Bar. Good music and a great mix of guests and locals.

Lovely food in the restaurant.

Bedrooms could use some updating but they are very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Date of trip: 26th April 2014, for one night. First time staying here although I have known it for more than a decade, having visited it's excellent Mullarkey's pub before, where the music scene is great (and the bar serves late), and also the Marconi restaurant where the food is always good. I travelled as part of a group of 10 friends on a reunion trip. Took a room on my own. A large comfortable bed, en suite bathroom, tea/coffee TV etc, wi-fi stretched to my room. This is a lovely, old fashioned hotel where customer service is king, right on the square in the centre of Clifden, a homely hotel where the doors are big and the welcome is enormous. Top-notch Irish breakfast in the morning. I took a large room on my own for a very competitive rate, half of what I had paid in Galway city the previous night. I have stayed in other hotels in Clifden and around, and I would happily recommend this to travellers looking for a very convenient place to stay when touring Connemara.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked a two night package the bedroom was clean the bed large and comfortable The breakfast very good dinner was excellent the staff were very friendly and very efficient all in all an exceptional stay at a great price Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinca, France
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The weather was foul. Blowing a gale and snow storms, but once inside all changed. A lovely homely hotel with excellent rooms, well cared for and en-suite. The food was just superb. Ok it was Valentines night but the female guests had a red rose and a glass of fizzy on the house. Lovely touch and great staff. Breakfast as expected excellent. Wil be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing