We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with friends.”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently took a weekend away with friends and stayed in Foyles Hotel. We had a great time, great staff and a wonderful atmosphere...a bit like staying at your grannies.

A great breakfast (although finishes early 10am), did see some arrive late and nobody was turned away.

Evening entertainment was great in Mullarkeys Bar. Good music and a great mix of guests and locals.

Lovely food in the restaurant.

Bedrooms could use some updating but they are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Date of trip: 26th April 2014, for one night. First time staying here although I have known it for more than a decade, having visited it's excellent Mullarkey's pub before, where the music scene is great (and the bar serves late), and also the Marconi restaurant where the food is always good. I travelled as part of a group of 10 friends on a reunion trip. Took a room on my own. A large comfortable bed, en suite bathroom, tea/coffee TV etc, wi-fi stretched to my room. This is a lovely, old fashioned hotel where customer service is king, right on the square in the centre of Clifden, a homely hotel where the doors are big and the welcome is enormous. Top-notch Irish breakfast in the morning. I took a large room on my own for a very competitive rate, half of what I had paid in Galway city the previous night. I have stayed in other hotels in Clifden and around, and I would happily recommend this to travellers looking for a very convenient place to stay when touring Connemara.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked a two night package the bedroom was clean the bed large and comfortable The breakfast very good dinner was excellent the staff were very friendly and very efficient all in all an exceptional stay at a great price Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The weather was foul. Blowing a gale and snow storms, but once inside all changed. A lovely homely hotel with excellent rooms, well cared for and en-suite. The food was just superb. Ok it was Valentines night but the female guests had a red rose and a glass of fizzy on the house. Lovely touch and great staff. Breakfast as expected excellent. Wil be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fabulously friendly hotel with a "can do" approach . Stayed for New Year and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. While the food and wine were great the brilliant staff made the experience . Special thanks to Stephen who seems to work 24 hours a day

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RancherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We loved our stay here! The rooms were huge with great old features and big windows! The breakfast was wonderful as well. We also love the dog that was always lounging around the hotel lobby! It was a beautiful dog and very friendly! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Eur0pe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful old hotel with period features is complemented by the friendly attentive staff.

Though there are no modern frills, we enjoyed our night in a PROPER old fashioned hotel. WiFi is intermittent depending where you are but it works and is free.

Because it was a weekend we had free parking outside the front door but beware other times as its pay and display public parking.

The breakfast, like the hotel, is a proper old fashioned one - big slabs of thick bacon, home made potato hash browns etc. Beautiful. My partner said even the big fresh croissant was one of the best she'd eaten and we holiday in France regularly!

Definitely recommended

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
321 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing