We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A friendly and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I spent three nights in this extremely friendly hotel, one evening I ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious and well presented and the service excellent. I have to commend them on their breakfast which set one up perfectly for the round of golf to be played at the Connemara Golf Club. Being located in the center of Clifden meant that the local bars were within easy walking distance and thus was able to enjoy the late night music on offer over a couple of guinesses.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    101
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dun Laoghaire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wanted to stay in Clifden for a couple of nights this October and found the website for Foyles Hotel. I was really very surprised to see that they were offering a B&B price of €50, which is extremely good value for a hotel in such a central location in the town.
My room was quite basic yet very comfortable. Breakfast was really very good and the staff were more than helpful. The building is charming in an old fashioned way.
So, for a cost of less than a traditional B&B, why not stay in this lovely traditional hotel?
If I ever need to visit this beautiful part of the world again, I'll certainly try to stay in Foyles.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MilosBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in Foyles for 2 nights in early October, originally planned to stay for just one night. Found the staff very welcoming and the hotel warm, inviting and very relaxing. The perfect place to unwind and chill out. It's proximity to the many bars and restaurants in Clifden is an added bonus. Breakfasts were excellent. The beautiful scenery of Conemara is ideal for enjoying as a day trip. The restaurant was busy and looked very nice however we had eaten outside of Clifden so will save that experience for our next stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbcatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This comfortable hotel is a great place to stay when in Connemara. Comfortable and clean rooms with a country house feel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is fantastic, you will gain weight for sure. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeppiBrisbane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed four nights on a recent holiday to Ireland. Courteous and helpful staff, spacious rooms and great food . Central location. Complimentary breakfasts seemed endless! Minor quibbles were the firm mattress and slow water pressure. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with strong water pressure. Also with duvet, if required, and softer mattress, if one pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureLover1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We always visit Foyles restaurant whilst in Clifden. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Clifden and easy for parking. Great family feel and much charm. Restaurant has a great ambience and lovely place to return to. The fish on the menu was exceptional

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

How lovely and refreshing to find this wonderful comfortable and elegant hotel at the end of a long day. Having spent the previous two nights in a charmless modern hotel in Westport it was such a joy to relax in the welcoming warmth of Foyle's, The room was comfortable and so spacious. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. There was a genuine relaxed family atmosphere in this animal friendly hotel. I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing