We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, but charming staff”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There's not a lot of choice when it comes to hotels in Clifden and the lack of competition shows. Foyles has an excellent location right in the centre of this small town. It's got a nice cosy bar with live music on a few nights each week. Although the public rooms have a certain charm the bedrooms and bathrooms are very, very basic and you probably wouldn't want to stay here for a whole week. The cooked breakfasts are also on the small side, however the staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 292 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

An old period hotel with a quirky charm. The lobby is comfortable and welcoming and is an easy place to feel relaxed in surroundings from a long time ago. The staff are friendly and the service was generally good. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was good value. Off season you can bargain a little if you walk in speculatively. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom were clean but in keeping with the rest of the hotel they are a remnant of a bygone era! What might appear unclean might well be time worn enamel. A place I would stay again and very central to the heart of Clifden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at Foyles Hotel as part of a large group. From the minute we arrived up until checkout the staff could not have been any friendlier. From the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, you got that rare feeling that the everyone was genuinely happy to help you (even managed to pester the night porter for a chicken curry at 4am!)

The hotel is in a great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The hotels own bar had some fantastic live music, and a good atmosphere.

The decor, and furniture is not brand spanking new, but it all adds to the character of the hotel.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djoneill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Do yourself a favor...spend a few days here. This is our second trip to Clifden in three years. Both times we've stayed here. To be sure, there are other more modern places in the beautiful little city, but if you don't stay there at least once, in my humble opinion, you are missing out on spending the night in a really cool place. No lift, but there will be someone there to help with your bags. The place is old and the water pressure isn't great, but it is sufficient. You will eventually meet Jack the dog and his charge, Gweeva, a fourth generation Foyle hotelier who isn't yet two, but will dazzle you. It is a family owned establishment literally steps away from the town square. The B & B package is a great deal. The food is good and plenty of it. There is Mallarkey's BaR, whwere you can grab a fine pint , listen to music, and go to bed with out leaving the hotel. Safe and convenient. If you want to golf at Connemara....The Foyles will make the arrangements for you. Nice place, nice family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved Clifden - very cute. One downside of the town itself is that all dinner places close very early. We ate at the Indian place for lack of better options.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Our room was street facing but noise wasn't an issue.

We stayed one night and spent very little time there ... the one thing worth noting was the stains on the sheets and towels. They were definitely washed, but has visible staining. I was glad we were only there one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonMA4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is nice to stay in an hotel which is both friendly and comfortable. It was a bit of a hike up the stairs to our room on the second floor but the room was large and clean. The whole place is a bit saggy but that adds to its char. The staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is like an old pair of slippers and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tassiegirl759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Foyle's is a really nice family hotel right in the centre of Clifden town. The first thing we noticed on coming in was a huge roaring fire in the fireplace and a sleeping labrador (who was gentle and happy to be petted by adults and children alike). This really is a family run hotel, its properly old fachioned with vintage mismatched carpets and wallpaper and huge old furniture. The rooms even have old fashioned keys!

We had a family room and a double. The family was huge! Two interconnecting rooms with a double bed and two singles (would have actually done us all) and the double was lovely. The put both rooms beside each other which was handy too.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was expensive but worth it, there was a great atmosphere with a band playing downstairs for guests.

Breakfast was lovely, continental and cooked available, they even took the care to make sure a cold plate was brought to my little brother so he wouldn't burn himself!

Couldn't reccomend it enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
320 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: $91 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing