We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
“Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Do yourself a favor...spend a few days here. This is our second trip to Clifden in three years. Both times we've stayed here. To be sure, there are other more modern places in the beautiful little city, but if you don't stay there at least once, in my humble opinion, you are missing out on spending the night in a really cool place. No lift, but there will be someone there to help with your bags. The place is old and the water pressure isn't great, but it is sufficient. You will eventually meet Jack the dog and his charge, Gweeva, a fourth generation Foyle hotelier who isn't yet two, but will dazzle you. It is a family owned establishment literally steps away from the town square. The B & B package is a great deal. The food is good and plenty of it. There is Mallarkey's BaR, whwere you can grab a fine pint , listen to music, and go to bed with out leaving the hotel. Safe and convenient. If you want to golf at Connemara....The Foyles will make the arrangements for you. Nice place, nice family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    103
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
123
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved Clifden - very cute. One downside of the town itself is that all dinner places close very early. We ate at the Indian place for lack of better options.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Our room was street facing but noise wasn't an issue.

We stayed one night and spent very little time there ... the one thing worth noting was the stains on the sheets and towels. They were definitely washed, but has visible staining. I was glad we were only there one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonMA4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

It is nice to stay in an hotel which is both friendly and comfortable. It was a bit of a hike up the stairs to our room on the second floor but the room was large and clean. The whole place is a bit saggy but that adds to its char. The staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is like an old pair of slippers and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiegirl759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afro20
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Foyle's is a really nice family hotel right in the centre of Clifden town. The first thing we noticed on coming in was a huge roaring fire in the fireplace and a sleeping labrador (who was gentle and happy to be petted by adults and children alike). This really is a family run hotel, its properly old fachioned with vintage mismatched carpets and wallpaper and huge old furniture. The rooms even have old fashioned keys!

We had a family room and a double. The family was huge! Two interconnecting rooms with a double bed and two singles (would have actually done us all) and the double was lovely. The put both rooms beside each other which was handy too.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was expensive but worth it, there was a great atmosphere with a band playing downstairs for guests.

Breakfast was lovely, continental and cooked available, they even took the care to make sure a cold plate was brought to my little brother so he wouldn't burn himself!

Couldn't reccomend it enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The personal nature of the greeting, the smell of delicious food that greets you in reception...I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were lovely. The food...I CANNOT RATE IT BETTER!! Great value for money & lovely & clean. As a commercial traveller, I stay in a lot of small hotels & this one did not disappoint!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystallamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have stayed a few times now and have always found it to be a good friendly old style hotel. Rooms are not modern but have always been clean. Breakfast is always excellent, an experience like having it at home only to a standard that you could never meet

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwanewint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Partner and I spent two nights here in Feb 2013. On arrival I was greeted with a bizarre smell in the reception area. I had anticapted that it would be nicer. I was disappointed that this Hotel has no parking facilities available. On the street parking cost a euro an hour which is quite steep.
The place may state that its like steeping back in time all well and good but it really needs a lick of paint. The hall down to the rooms smells like bins and is not very pleasing to the eye. Overall a big disappointment. Our room was not much better. Lack of toiletrees was poor thank god we brought our own. Anything I touched in the room was falling apart. The Handles fell off the dresser, the bedside lights did not work. It was disappointing considering how much the room cost. We went to the bar for a drink and it was manky the mirrors around the place were disgusting. The Barman was not overfriendly either. I would not come back here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing