We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing trip”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fishing trip”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a family run hotel, in the centre of Clifden.I stayed here for two nights last week, while on a deep sea angling trip with John Britain.It has a real welcoming family appeal.Bedroom was very clean, bed very comfortable & breakfasts were good quality. A complimentary coffee was served while I read the morning paper in reception.Nice touch.
E.J.Kings pub & Mitchell,s restaurant is literally across the road, both of which you will truly enjoy.Music in E.J.Kings was excellent & Basket night in Foyles on a Thurs is a must, if you enjoy good music.
This has been my second visit & I look forward to a return visit with my family in early August.

Room Tip: Family room no 101 is ideal for a couple with 2 small children. Rooms overlooking street can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkcdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    103
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
124
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Traditional family run hotel smack bang in the middle of town. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was really nice. Had a nice bay window looking out over the town. Full of character.
My wife made it down to breakfast that she said was very good. The staff were perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothpick0950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is a throw back to bygone days with excellent service to match. Great central location with decent rooms. Excellent breakfast served with a smile. A negative was the lack of bar facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Clifden. We were greeted at the hotel with a very warm welcome. We had booked in for dinner on two occasions during our stay and on both occasions the meal was fantastic. The hotel was comfortable and welcoming and like other reviewers our bedroom was large with period furniture.
The location is superb the breakfast wonderful but more than all that the staff were all so helpful and friendly.
I would recommend Foyles to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A classic old style hotel with charm. The receptionist on duty on 10 May was the happiest I have ever come across. Large comfortable rooms with period furniture giving real charm. Excellent location in the middle of town and a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We needed a weekend away and out of laziness went for the Hotel Restaurant on our first night. The food was fantastic and the personal friendly service was excellent.
For our second night, we enquired about, only to be told that the best restaurant in the town was the Marconi in Foyles! Oh well, back to the hotel, and for a second night, they impressed.
Clean rooms, a little basic, but very comfortable. Very good value for money. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just back from weekend in Clifden Stayed in Foyles Hotel. Very old world hotel but comfortable rooms. Food in the Marcaoni restaurant is just excellent. Friendly and effecient staff. When returnig I will request a room to the rear of the hotel to avoid street noise at night. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing