We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It made us sad”
Review of Faul House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faul House
Ranked #7 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I went there with my husband last Irish bank holiday. The place is ok, cozy. Our bedroom was a little small, but cheaper than the others. The owners seemed nice to us. We expected to stay for two nights.

Right after the first night, my husband had an emergency at work (it was not a holiday in the rest of the world) and we had to leave immediatly. When we told the owner and explained the reason, she said she did not believe us, that nobody worked on Sundays, and turned back! Without further comments! Than, because it was 13:00 insted of 11:00, she said she had to charge both days.

We didn't mind paying a bit more, and we did not want to seem unpolite so we explained our reasons, but had an unpredictable reaction. We think that someone who is supposed to work with tourists should not turn back and leave the guests speaking to themselves. She could just have said "ok, but I will need you to pay a fine", or whatever. We left the place very hurt and angry for not being trusted. Besides the fact that we had to leave
Connemara earlier than predicted, in a beautiful sunny day.

Further, I don't know if there are only 6 rooms there, because it seemed more. There were more than eight cars, and also there were eight tables in the dining room, which were not enough (some people had to wait to have breakfast).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaiaFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Faul House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 200 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2007

Family spring break tour of Ireland stopped at the Faul House. Six in our party (2 parents, 2 teens, 2 grandmas). Everyone felt comfortable and at home at the Faul House. It is a nice little gem of a place, close, but away from the town of Clifden. It is a fun little drive to get there! Our rooms were nicely done and clean. Plenty of blankets and pillows. Micheal always had a nice peat fire going in the community room(gotta love that peat!). They served a very nice breakfast with a good variety of choices for all tastes. It is served in a nice dining room with plenty of morning sun and views. We had fun exploring the family homestead with all the sheep and stone fences that run right down to the ocean inlet. A true Irish
experience. Don't forget to bring euros because they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

My husband and I stayed here about two weeks ago. We loved it! Michael is the owner and he could not have been nicer. He made the stay for us, he was so sweet. We had a large room with a double bed and twin and a private bath. The room was very nice. Clean, and well maintained. The breakfast was excellent. The ride out to the B&B is something else. The house is about a 5 minutes ride from downtown Clifden. The drive to the house is very pretty. You're on a back country road that feels so remote. But, as I said, you're in the heart of Clifden in only 5 minutes - so the location is great. Michael had great suggestions on where we should eat dinner in town. I would highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skibride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2005

My wife and I stayed here just one night in September, 2005 (our next to last night in Ireland.) After some help in town with directions to the farm, we were warmly welcomed on arrival by Kathleen to our large room with king-sized bed and private bath, and took in the views from our window over the rural area including a glimpse of the sea. We enjoyed a short spell in the warm sitting room with turf fire in the fireplace, before going into town. The following morning, both Kathleen and Michael shared in preparing and serving a delicious traditional Irish breakfast (with other choices also available), and Michael showed us around the farm. The other guests (from USA, Ireland, Britain, France) we spoke to also seemed very pleased with their choice to stay here. The price was certainly in line with accommodations in the area, and we would love to go back with more time to spend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank rsolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: A l'étage la vue doit étre un peu plus étendue.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat38660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vallu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charles-et-Marie-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
5.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
214 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
6.7 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#11 of 45 in Clifden
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faul House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faul House

Address: Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faul House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing