We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay!”
Review of Faul House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faul House
Ranked #7 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

loved the peat fire! the owners, Kathleen and Michael, are friendly, knowledgable, and good-humored....when in Clifden, i will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticMel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I arrived at Faul House as strangers and four days later we left as friends! Kathleen and Michael cheerfully welcomed us into their charming farmhouse a day earlier than we had booked, and with remembrance of their stellar hospitality and incredible warmth, our stay with them is indelibly etched in our book of memories forever.
Faul House is set peacefully in the countryside a short drive down a very narrow country lane.....easily navigated with very little chance of much traffic. It's proximity to Clifden was perfect, and as well, a good home base for further explorations.
Our spacious bedroom with it's pastoral view of the surrounding countryside, it's comfortable bed piled high with the finest of woolen blankets (so cozy I just had to buy one to take home!), and a spotless and modern bathroom, we soon forgot the rain, wind and storms outside the window.
Coming back from a day exploring the beauty of Connemara and surrounds, and walking into the warmth of the lounge, with a peat fire stoked in the fireplace was a cheery welcome respite from the the unfortunate weather, but even under better circumstances, it still would have been that touch of home one can long for when travelling.
We were encouraged to enjoy visiting Michael's Connemara ponies, the chickens and the new family of ducks that have taken up residence at Faul House; and for a nice end to a days touring, take a short walk down the country lane which leads to a tiny, picturesque cove.....along the way, you'll meet a playful neighbourhood puppy looking for someone to play ball with!
Kathleen and Michael readily assisted with suggestions as to what we should include in our explorations......thanks to them, we delighted in visiting Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, Roundstone, the Alcock and Brown memorial, and Kylemore Abbey. The suggestion that our round trip from Ballynahinch include a drive across the Bog Road was definitely a highlight.
Both of us agree that our stay with Kathleen and Michael at Faul House was definitely one of the highlights of our 21 day trip in Ireland; for sure the fairies had sprinkled some "luck of the Irish" on us!

Room Tip: Second floor, left of the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanajo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed with Kathleen and Michael for three nights but wished that we had arranged to stay longer.
If you visit Ireland, you must visit Connemara, and if you visit Connemara you MUST stay with Kathleen and Michael.
Kathleen and Michael are what is the best about Ireland. You will not find a better welcome, better accomodation, a better breakfast, or a better bed (difficult to get out of in the mornings)
We plan to return September next year.
( Michael, if you read this, remember to re order the oil next time and Kathleen practice your fire lighting skills)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent (we tried two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We've known Kathleen and Michael for 15 years and wouldn't imagine coming to Ireland without staying a few nights (usually a week) at Faul House! They're wonderful hosts, so welcoming and warm. They really make you feel at home. Breakfast is great, (Mmmm! the scrambled eggs and salmon!) and what about those fabulous evenings in the lounge, chatting with Kathleen and the other guests in front of a nice turf fire... without forgetting Ruby. The rooms are vast and very comfortable, the place is very quiet though just a short distance from town. An ideal place, really.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babettte74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband, 2 year-old daughter and I stayed with Kathleen and Michael at their farmhouse at the end of September for 3 days. Driving straight down the day we landed from Shannon, we got lost between Clifden & Ballyconeely. Michael was gracious enough to stay on the call and walk us through till we reached their farmhouse. The first night, we couldn't see anything in the dark, but were given a warm welcome and a huge room. The next morning we sampled from a menu for breakfast (that included a variety of cereals, a full Irish, salmon with eggs and homemade soda bread and jams)and chatted happily with the other guests. The atmosphere was relaxed, informal and very, very comfortable. Despite being jet-lagged and arriving for breakfast by 9:30 in the morning, we still got a hearty full Irish!

The farmhouse itself is situated in a narrow country lane, just a short walk away from the water. Bell, the neighbor's dog, is always ready to accompany you, so long as you play ball with her! Michael gave us a tour of the farmhouse while taking his ponies out to graze. A wonderful place for my daughter, she was absolutely thrilled with the chickens and turkeys in the backyard.

We made Faul House our base, and drove down both to the Rossaveel ferry for the Aran islands (a short 45 minute drive, with no traffic) and up to the Connemara National forest. Clifden is a great base for both and Faul House is very convenient for completely immersing into this world. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshNSima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed in Faul House with my dog, Missy and we had a lovely time. Its great to find a B&B thats happy to accommodate a pet. Very clean and so peaceful and it was great to have a choice of breakfasts. The pancakes were awesome. Very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnoonanirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Kathleen welcomed us into her absolutely beautiful home...to a more than adequate bed and breakfast room for myself and two teenaged children on a chilly Irish afternoon..where the fireplace was cozy and the woolen blankets plentiful on the bed.
Faul House is located a quick drive from Clifden; a great town with lots of hospitality, shopping and pubs to enjoy. To top it all off, the country road that Faul House is located on was a perfect place for a after dinner walk as you could go right to the sea at the end of the road.. Loved everything about this place..thank you!!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank northstar1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
2.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
5.8 mi away
Rockmount House
Rockmount House
#14 of 45 in Clifden
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faul House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faul House

Address: Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faul House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing