We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifden Camping and Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Has everything you need. Too far out of town to walk especially as the road is very busy (local taxi was 5 euro).Plenty of hardstands with power. Loved the rabbits running around

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joscarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Maybe it was the other Trip Advisor reviews that got my hopes so high, but personally I found this campsite average, and I am struggling to rate it higher than three stars!
Don't get me wrong, everything you need is there, but compared to European Counterparts the campsite falls below their high standards. The site was clean, apart for the sink area, with was not kept very tidy, this was partly down to lots of campers not cleaning properly after they used the area, lots of empty glass bottles were left build up on the floor, these combined with to slop buckets to collect pig feed attracted an abundance of flies to this area, one fly stick trap was set up but was not doing a good job. I noticed the bathrooms were out of paper towels, in their place was a hand towel, this would be acceptable if the same towel was no left hanging for three days!
Another observation about the campsite was that there seemed to be a lack of staff. It was owner ran, by a lady and I presume her young son. The campsite was full and surely there should be staff employed to keep the area's 100% clean?
Personally I would not go back, nor recommend the site, although it is not far from Clifden Village, only 2km, I'm sure the site will suit lots of others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ZenStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were very satisfied with this site which is in a nice location just outside Clifden town. It is clean, tidy and well maintained. There were plenty of hook-up points with good dish washing and toilet facilities. The grey water drain however was not brilliant.

The layout is attractive though negotiating around the Reception Block might be a bit difficult for bigger vans. However there were lots of really big vans on site, so this might not be a problem in practice. I did not enquire about about wi-fi provision.

It is possible to easily walk into Clifden itself in about 30 minutes. The first part is on the main road which is narrowish and has a lot of traffic. However there is a good shortcut after about 10 minutes walking which more or less brings you into the center of town.

All in all we were pleased with the site and we would have no hesitation in using it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_Gralton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very pleasant campsite, owned by Thomas, a sheep farmer.

Well-kept, good clean showers and toilets, walking distance from Clifden, a small shop with the basics, and while we were there in July 2013, bright sunny weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gleamingspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found this site by accident, But for the sign on the road we would have passed it by. The facilities are spotless, plenty of hardstands for our motorhome, adequate power outlets and free showers. Close enough to the town to be convenient and far enough out to be completely silent and peaceful. We were able to walk into town in about 20 mins to watch a match and listen to fantastic traditional music and take a cab back to the site for €7. Lots of local information on what to see and do, available from the friendly camp crew. We have stayed on loads of sites in Ireland and would rate this one among the best available. just hope an excellent review wont mean it will be too full for us when we next go in July to take up the advice given on visiting Inisbofin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great site where we had a most memorable stay during the later part of the season in our American Motor Home. Ideally located, excellent facilities, very helpful and welcoming site personnel and is certainly good value for money. Most definitely a site to return to (which we hope to soon), that has immediately been accepted for entry into the Big Pitch Guide, and we can recommend it unreservedly. Many thanks for your hospitality, see you soon. Neil, Linda & Daisy (the dog).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The owners and staff are brilliant so helpful and friendly before you know it you feel like one of the family. Nothing is too much and the facilities are geat, with hot showers and hot water all the time. Every space is kept ship shape and so clean its brilliant. In the campsite site shop all your needs are catered for with advise and maps to help you plan any activity you might want to partake in. Great location for touring around Connemara from the lovely bustling town of Clifden, the Connemara National Park, the breathtaking moumtain ranges as well as a host of lovely little villages steeped in history and in some cases movies. This sight is the best ever for touring anywhere on the west coast of Ireland!!
Thanks to the owners and staff for all our stays with them over the years. We'll be seing them again in 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
307 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
1.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Camping and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Camping and Caravan Park

Address: Shanakeever, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range: $11 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clifden Camping and Caravan Park, Connemara we've welcomed camper vans and tents since 1983. Our emphasis is on a friendly and helpful welcome for a relaxing, interesting stay in Clifden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing