We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs 6 stars !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Needs 6 stars !”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had only one night here and would have loved to spend more time. On our many travels we appreciate extra attention to detail and care and Buttermilk Guest House is tops. We have found many B & Bs giving only basics and some less than that. I think all should at least have tissues, face washers and lovely towels, as well as adequate toiletries which include soap and shampoo.
Buttermilk exceeds all expectations. Included are : a lovely clean warm quiet room, thick fluffy large towels and face washers, shampoo and soaps and even bath salts, tissues, cotton buds, cotton wool, a sewing kit, hair dyer, unlimited tea,coffee and biscuits in lounge, universal adapter and lots of power points, free WI FI too. The breakfast was fantastic, a large variety of cereals, meat, cheeses and pastries and bread, fruit, yoghurt and 4 types of juice. Cooked breakfasts included about 6 different choices and well as a daily special. The hosts have lots on information and menus for local restaurants - even display the weather report for the day. The location is great and lots of free parking on site. We loved this area, and enjoyed a true Irish pub experience locally.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and no stairs was a bonus after weeks of dragging suitcases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
134
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Buttermilk is without a doubt in my mind one of the best places a person can stay while on a vacation to the west of Ireland. We spent two nights at this beautiful b and b in Clifden, and found the staff to be upstanding and most pleasant, the home to be spotless and very comfortable, and the breakfast to be of superior quality. When we return we will certainly be staying at Buttermilk. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very large, very clean, very well stocked and arranged in the most civilized manner - with toilet fixtures as far from the bedroom as possible, and the sink and tub large and spotless. The food - Irish breakfast and buffet items - was superior, and the coffee was strong and delicious. Even the little lobby was beautiful, with lovely furniture and a little fireplace kept burning during our mid-September stay. The b and b is easy (and pleasant) walking distance from Clifden, so one might have a Guinness or some wine at the many excellent local restaurants and not worry about driving back to a most comfortable bed. Five star accommodation, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid missing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cathriona had lots of information about the area.
Our room was comfortable and the shower was very good.
The location of this b and b was perfect just a short walk to town.
I would recommend Buttermilk lodge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

All the reviews of this guest house mention the great breakfast, and I have to agree. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. The rooms are of the country-cottage style, which I like.The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. This guest house is well located, it really is only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the town - a long the old, with little traffic road. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Brilliant B&B. Friendly and helpful with a wealth of information provided, tea on arrival. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Short walk into town center. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Warm Irish welcome and very clean and spacious rooms.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room by friendly staff and the menu was great.
A short walk to the city where there was plenty to see and do, We had a great time an

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#9 of 45 in Clifden
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly home from home located just 400 meters, 5 minutes walk from the town center. Purpose built ,Spacious, quality accommodation at affordable prices, WiFi throughout the house. There is a computer with broadband internet access and a printer for guests use. Our extensive breakfast menu offers numerous choices to suit every taste ! Visit our Connemara Ponies and Black-face sheep on our farm nearby.Pat is a qualified walking guide and can help you in planning your walks in the area.Packed Lunches, early breakfasts,laundry service, drying facilities are all available.Our little extra touches ensure return visits ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing