We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B in Clifden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cathriona had lots of information about the area.
Our room was comfortable and the shower was very good.
The location of this b and b was perfect just a short walk to town.
I would recommend Buttermilk lodge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

All the reviews of this guest house mention the great breakfast, and I have to agree. The cooked breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. The rooms are of the country-cottage style, which I like.The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. This guest house is well located, it really is only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the town - a long the old, with little traffic road. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OToole97, Manager at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Brilliant B&B. Friendly and helpful with a wealth of information provided, tea on arrival. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Short walk into town center. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Warm Irish welcome and very clean and spacious rooms.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room by friendly staff and the menu was great.
A short walk to the city where there was plenty to see and do, We had a great time an

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the start of July and would have no problem recommending this guesthouse. Located within easy walking distance of the town it also makes for a great base for exploring the beautiful Connemara. The room was nicely appointed,clean and comfortable. There was also plenty of information in the rooms about the area which gave us lots of ideas. The breakfast selection was great and set us up nicely for the day. I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibblywobblyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights while on a visit to Clifden . Very warm welcome on arrival from cathriona tea & coffee offered & shown to our rooms . Very clean & spacious with great views. Breakfast on both mornings were fantastic plenty of choice and great portions with great home cooked ingredient,s !! We will be back !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alandunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
1 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Buttermilk Lodge Westport Road, Clifden H71 VF25, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $98 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly home from home located just 400 meters, 5 minutes walk from the town center. Purpose built ,Spacious, quality accommodation at affordable prices, WiFi throughout the house. There is a computer with broadband internet access and a printer for guests use. Our extensive breakfast menu offers numerous choices to suit every taste ! Visit our Connemara Ponies and Black-face sheep on our farm nearby.Pat is a qualified walking guide and can help you in planning your walks in the area.Packed Lunches, early breakfasts,laundry service, drying facilities are all available.Our little extra touches ensure return visits ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing