We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skyview Gem”
Review of Ardmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardmore House
Ranked #3 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Ardmore House. It's situated on the lower sky road outside of Clifden. Our room was perfectly lovely for us and met all our needs in terms of space and comfort. If you are looking for quiet and peace then you will like it here as it is very quiet. The walk out to the cliffs is gorgeous and filled with flowers. The breakfast is just the way you want to begin your day. The owners and family make sure you are well looked after and there is ample parking for you. I always look forward to seeing the Ardmore sign post ahead as I feel very secure and happy there.

Special note: You see a lot more by staying on the sky road and the views are well worth it, but keep a cautious note of the weather while out and turn back early to the house if the weather is worsening with mist and fog at nightfall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review I hope you will return next year for the pony show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Ardmore House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the biggest room ever, a huge comfortable bed and a very spacious bathroom . simple design, pretty and fresh. Breakfast was rich and we were given quite a few options. The hosts clearly are experienced in having foreign guests, they provide adapters, fridge and anything else you could need. I highly recommend this b&b, particularly for the quality of the rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sima0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for the great review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location on the Skyline Drive makes this an outstanding destination spot; for us it was a wonderful stay as we explored Western Ireland/Connemara with friends. Kathy accommodated us at the last minute, welcoming us as if we had booked months in advance and guiding us to nice options for last minute food in town, too. The Ardmore House offers a gorgeous, private walk down to the ocean. Linens were crisp..and white. No old-dreary flowered comforters here. I believe the house was full, but we did not here any noise at any point. Breakfast was lovely and served in a cheery room. And to top all this off, the place was immaculate; the clean rating would be 10 on the 1-10 spectrum, and I am very picky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notallwhowanderarelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for the great review I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Ardmore House for 4 nights (I even wish it could have been longer) Its a beautiful bungalow with everything you could wish for at a B & B and whilst we stayed in 3 other B & B's in Ireland this was certainly the best. Kathy and John have worked really hard to provide all the extra little touches that make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They have a fantastic peaceful walk down to the sea, with seating and picnic tables on the way. If you had longer to stay there you would not want to move from there on a sunny day. Kathy will provide you with a local map and inform you about the area and places to visit. Breakfast is first class with an amazing choice, you name it I think they provide it. The Sky Road has spectacular views to wait for a sunset or just to sit and admire.You will not be sorry if you stay at Ardmore House.
The Connemara region has wonderful scenery and a place we would love to go back to. So thank you John and Kathy for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Whilst we stayed in the front of the bungalow I do not think you would be disappointed with any room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopalong6845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review I hope you will return to Ardmore house in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of three stayed in a triple room (1 King, 1 twin) last week. The beds/bedding are very modern, and so are the bathroom facilities. The room was extremely clean. Upper Sky Road has spectacular views and there is a pull off from which to observe the sunset. The owners of Ardmore have built a path in back of the house that leads to a cliff walk overlooking the ocean. The Ardmore was one of our favorite stays in Ireland. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will come back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I just returned from a great week in Ireland with the highlight being my stay at this B an B. The place is quaint, immaculate and peaceful from the lovely rooms, relaxing from living area to the outdoor patio with Koi pond, the walk to the cliffs the beautiful picnic area with wonderful view. We were fortunate enough to be able to extend our stay to a second night so that we could truly enjoy the Ardmore House, the town of Clifden and the surrounding country side. I work for a four diamond hotel so I know a great place when I see one, I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for the great review we enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope you will return some time in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived in Clifden in the evening & decided to have dinner before going to the Ardmore House B&B. By the time we arrived, a fine mist of rain was beginning. We were warmly greeted by the owners & shown to our immaculate ensuite room. Since the rain was supposed to be even harder the next morning, we decided to take the path that led to a view of the ocean - along the way was a koi pond & beautiful plantings. We had a wonderful night's rest in comfy beds. Breakfast was delicious - we chose pancakes with sausages and a full Irish breakfast, but salmon was also on the menu. Guests were very chatty and the owners provided us with very good information about the surrounding area & things to see, even on a rainy day. We will definitely go back to Ardmore House if the opportunity arises!

Room Tip: Our room #5 at the end of the hall was very quiet & comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: Sky Road Clifden Galway | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $42 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing