We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of our Trip in Ireland”
Review of Ardmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardmore House
Ranked #3 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Outside of town on a road that will make grown men go white.... but well worth the drive. Excellent rooms... proper bathrooms and showers that real people fit in!!!

Without a doubt the best B&B we stayed at in Ireland.

The definitive Irish Bed and Breakfast & Self Catering Guide 2008 (page 142). County Galway - Clifden.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank World_Traveller084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Ardmore House for 2 nights while on a driving tour round Galway. We spotted it on the Web and really liked the look of it, and we weren't disappointed! The views are fabulous, the rooms are spacious and totally spotless, and ours even had a king-sized bed which was a real treat! The breakfasts are superb, and I can strongly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Our hosts were friendly and attentive and available at all times to answer our questions. Ardmore is only a few minutes drive away from the lovely little town of Clifden, which boasts some of the best seafood restaurants I've ever been too. All in all, a wonderful guest house which we can highly recommend. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Telboy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I have just returned to London after spending a wonderful holiday at Ardmore House;
My husband and I both throughly recommend this wonderful Bed and breakfast.
The food was excellent, (plenty of healthy choices for breakfast.)
The rooms were spotless; Kathy and John were so welcoming and friendly. Lots of advice provided on places of interest of the local area. We especially enjoyed the walk on Ardmore's own private path to the cliff tops.
We plan to return again hopfully next year

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2006

Beautiful view and grounds. Very nice, spacious rooms. Delicious breakfast. It is out of the town and very quiet - wonderful spot to relax.

3  Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Finland
314
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed in this house for two nights and memories are the best! It has beautiful location with wonderful view. Host Kathy was really nice, friendly and helpful. She adviced us to take a small road to the water, so we had possibility to enjoy wonderful view of sunset and cliffs. Also she helped us a lot to to find the nicest places of Connemara. Rooms we very comfortable and very clean. And Kathy is making delicious breakfast! We were very happy to stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Holland, MI
14
Reviewed October 23, 2005

We stayed at the Ardmore House for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was the nicest B&B we stayed at... the food, the accomodations, the hosts - we loved it all and the worst part was leaving! We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bronxville, New York
16
Reviewed June 15, 2005

Ardmore House is a very nicely done B & B with some spacious rooms on the second floor, and one with a particularly nice bathroom and king-sized bed. The area is gorgeous, Clifden is a nice center for driving the rugged coast, and one could spend a week there and still find nearby islands to visit, walks to take, and beautiful views. One of our nicest memories to bring home from this very comfortable home is that of the owners themselves, Kathy and John Mullen. They are available to give advice to the guests, and are very kind people. Breakfasts are great and we plan to return for a stay longer than the four days we just spent there.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: Sky Road Clifden Galway | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing