We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, rude, rude.”
Review of Griffin's Bar

Griffin's Bar
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Traditional Old Style Bar . Great Irish / Rock / Disco Music all through the week and a real local gem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude, rude, rude.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Please avoid this tip and save your self from the ignorance of the owner. Was so embarrassed when I brought friends here only to have them shouted at for not immediately going to the bar rather than settling at the table first whilst waiting for our friend to park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Sallyzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    65
    6
    2
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Geniune, welcoming Irish pub for great craic, irish music and food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

the owner and staff here could not do enough for you, from once we arrived the welcome we received was second to none for a thursday afternoon, we got to watch the golf on TV with also having a lovely lunch and got advice on what to see and where to stay while in the area. the music on that evening was brilliant and the Guinness was a taste for more.
Thanks you David, Lisa and all the staff. well be calling again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for music - nice spot”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice wee bar, friendly folk. Seems to be music on most nites - worth checking out. Never had any food so cannot comment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patches1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of good music”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The had an early Irish band, 6:30 to 9:00ish and a different Irish band later. Both were a lot of fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eme744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy and fun”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This bar is divided in two, and we sat at the front, which is close and cozy with a lot of American memorabilia on the walls to make it interesting. There was a trio of young musicians playing and they were clearly very talented, playing at just the right volume for the space. The owner was also quite tactful in handling the one overly-inebriated customer. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin's Bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Griffin's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing