We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highlight of Our Ireland Vacation

Paul guided our family on three walks: Omey Beach, Derryclare Woods, and Roundstone Bog. These... read more

Reviewed July 8, 2019
Mary S
Marvelous and Memorable

There can be no better guide to see the beauty of the Wild Atlantic Way than Paul Phelan. He is... read more

Reviewed June 6, 2019
equerystrian
,
Portage, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
44
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
44
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great guide paul phelps bog roundstone hikers ireland safety beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 48 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My partner and I did a walk with Paul on Easter Sunday along Benbaun Beag, Benbrack and Knockbrack. It was a brilliant walk. Paul was very informative about the history of the area. He is well equipped in case there is an accident, which please God will never happen. It was a misty day when we hiked, but it was still a fantastic hike and the sun came out for a short while to offer us some amazing views. We felt safe in the knowledge that Paul knows the area so well, and he was a brilliant guide. We would really recommend his hikes, and we plan on doing some more with him in the future. His book is also a great read. Its called Connemara & Mayo A Walking Guide. It grades each walk and explains the routes very well.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

i hiked diamond hill with paul. this was a half-day event. paul is very knowledgable.i think hiking/walking is the best way to see ireland and doing it with an expert like paul makes it extra special and safe. the best recommendation i can give is that i plan to visit ireland again this year and i'm making plans to meet up with paul and do two more hikes/walks with him.

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank muffin045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We did two walks with this guide, a lovely easy-going walk around Omey Island and a Mountain hike which was quite strenuous, but it was worth it to see the spectacular scenery of the 12 Bens. It was great to have a guide who knew all the accessible routes through the mountains and arranged to finish the hike at a cosy pub in Letterfrack!

Date of experience: October 2011
1  Thank catO465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews