We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value , great food”

Off The Square Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 34 Restaurants in Clifden
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value , great food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the largest and the biggest pot of mussels here than ever before . The were large ,juicy and tender , perfect in fact. This place was busy with locals enjoying a variety of wonderful looking food . We will definitely visit here again

Helpful?
Thank AnneA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    74
    26
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
immman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A local had recommended this restaraunt and we were not disappointed. Service was a bit down, but the place was busy. Food was good, but the prices were a little on the high side.
Portions were good as well. Park at the grocery store ans walk it. Free 2 hour parking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best Mussels!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Honestly these guys served the best mussels I have ever eaten in my entire life. And I have eaten a lot of mussels. They advertise the mussels as a "starter" but it is a main meal that 2 people have a hard time eating. Worth every penny and well worth coming here for it.

We also had the seafood chowder which was pretty darn good too. Definitely recommend this place for seafood - just get the mussels - you won't be sorry. Trust us!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food !”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I saw a long list of negative reviews describing the service and ambient of the restaurant.
Gotta say that I didn't feel this way and we were there on Saturday evening when it was fairly busy. We were offered a smallish table being a couple but have no problem understanding that bigger window tables were set for larger parties.
Service was all right, nothing special maybe but definitely not rude as other reviewers said.
The food - now that's the real part. The food is damn amazing. Portions are large and to be honest we wee full by the time we finished our starters (try their steamed mussels)
Steak was cooked exactly the way I asked for it, and so way the lobster which is very reasonably priced BTW.
Overall I would say they deserve 9/10 for really amazing food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkrysiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Grumpy and Smileless Reception - go to EJ Kings instead.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

On 24 August me my wife and 3 young kids went into this restaurant having viewed the menu outside which looked good, and the restaurant appeared child friendly. However when we entered we stood for a while waiting to be offered a table. When no one approached us we asked if we could sit at a table by the window which was clear and ready for use. We were rudely informed by the black haired waitress that the table was set for 4 people. She then (again quite rudely) motioned for another waitress to find us a table for 5 in the back. Having been shown to a table at the back of the restaurant that was very empty and lacking in any atmosphere we decided not to stay. We left and went to EJ Kings down the street and had very welcoming and friendly reception as well as a fantastic meal in a terrific family friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikonphotobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Square Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Off The Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing