We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifden Town Hostel

Clifden Town Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifden Town Hostel
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Clean and cosy. The staff is very helpful and ready to provide you with every sort of useful information concerning your stay. I was afraid, after reading some reviews, that the kitchen will be hardly big enough to accommodate two people - well, we (five people) managed to prepare our breakfast there together with another group of travellers (another 4 persons). There wasn't much space left, but nobody got hurt and we all managed to prepare what we wanted ;). The hostel is located in the heart of Clifden. There's enough parking space and a shop is just a 3-min walk away. Great location! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in a private room in this hostel. It was really nice, clean and quiet. The staff are really cool and we had a great time. Close to everything in Clifden, it was perfect for us. Plenty parking on the street and it appeared safe enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaFleseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed for a few nights from July 11th to 14th. We were warmly welcomed and made feel right at home. Our private room was clean and the facilities were spot on and included free wifi throughout. Great value as well. I hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Call direct to get better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank climbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very quiet, layed back hostel, quite what you could expect of a country side place. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The rooms where clean and the beds nice and comfy (hadnt slept this good for ages). The living room was light and spacious with books and magazines in case of rainy days. Everything you could need for cooking was in the kitchen and the owners where very friendly and helpful. It is located in the middle of the town, even tho the town is very small...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werder upon Havel, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you're on a tight budget. Very clean. Living room is very spacious and cozy. Our room had a very small window and was close to the facade of the neighbouring house, which meant it was pretty dark inside. But other rooms in the hostel seemed to be better positioned, looking out onto the street or the bay of Clifden. But for the price and considering it is a hostel, you can't really complain. Owner was also very friendly and helped us with our many questions. We would definitely stay here again if back in Clifden one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaureNats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second best craic in a hostel in Ireland in my experience. Stayed 2 nights, with I had stayed longer, rather than at another B&B for the first couple of nights. Not a big hostel, but it's not in a big city, so it doesn't need to be. Indeed, it had a very homely atmosphere and was very tastefully fitted out. Owner and staff were very helpful, both with the accommodation and with events in the town and things to do. Stayed in a dorm room, lots of social interraction, lots of conversation with fellow travellers, even went out drinking together. Breakfast not provided, but small staples were. Even if you bought a full Irish at the cafe down the road it's still cheaper than a B&B, and in some cases better quality.

Nice place to stay, would stay again if I ever found myself in that part of the world in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnybrook, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in a private room at the Clifden Town Hostel for 5 nights in October 2012 and can absolutely not share any of the negative reviews we've read here. The facilities such as the bathrooms and the kitchen were cleaned every day, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need for cooking and we got a key for our room and the front door, which was usually locked at 11 or 12 pm. Considering the excellent price (€19) of the room, the simple but cozy furniture (double bed and bed side table) is absolutely sufficient. The common room (which is undergoing renovation at the moment) provides sofas, arm chairs and, most importantly, an excellent internet connection (free WiFi). The owner, Sean, was very heplful and friendly during our stay. He provides you with useful tips for dining, activities and bus timetables.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.5 mi away
Connemara National Park Hostel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Clifden Bay Hostel
#10 of 13 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Town Hostel

Property: Clifden Town Hostel
Address: Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifden Town Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifden Town Hostel is a small friendly hostel offering a warm welcome to all of its guests. Located on Market Street in the centre of Clifden. The hostel has a self-catering kitchen and a dining room and common room for guests to use and meet fellow travellers. All of the bedrooms are bright and airy and some offer sea views. Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. Clifden Town has many cafes, restaurants and bars. The town centre has many lifestyle, fashion and giftware shops and has three large supermarkets. Traditional music can be heard at the bars most evenings. Clifden is the ideal base to explore Connemara. There are numerous walks by the sea, through the bogs and hills, the Sky Road, the Bog Road and many more starting at the town or bikes can be hired for longer journeys to Omey Island, The National Park, Round stone and Dogs Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Clifden Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing