We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real place to get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #9 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real place to get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed for three nights. Wonderful room with spacious bath/shower. King bed. View of the water and patio. Breakfast superb-the pancakes to die for and the fresh fruit & scones. We walked the beach, hiked to Clifden castle and our hostess could not be nicer. Lots of books and a wonderful peat fire. We highly recommend if you are someone who likes a natural setting. Only downside-no internet access even though the owners have access.

Dyane & Bill

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toobusyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

This B&B (more a 'boutique-type' guesthouse) was perfect. Secluded, beautiful scenary, good food - quality and choice, large room with Patio (though we passed some that were smaller - ask for large one with bayview), turf fire. I don't understand some of the negative views:
- service slow because waiter was talking with other guests - it's Ireland, not London!
- it's a little expensive - that's also Ireland
- difficult to get to - that's the point in going there!
Overall, the place is beautiful, friendly and comfortable

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John10987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Dolphin Beach House is a great place to stay! Rooms are large and very clean and the whole house is tidy and extremely well kept. It should fully satisfy the most exacting American visitors! Beds are both firm and comfortable and some of the rooms have direct access to a yard opening straight to a wonderful landscape, scattered with stone ruins, with a beautiful sea sight in the background. Walking to the sea takes 6 or 7 minutes, and swimming is possible from a tiny stone beach.
This place is actually more like a small hotel than a traditionnal B&B, but we were warmly welcomed and felt like home (better than home actually!).
Ample parking is available right in front of the main entrance.
Breakfast was very good and tasty
Note however, that access to and from Clifden takes 10 to 15 mn, and the road is sometimes very narrow. Indications are sufficient for one not to get lost. But I would advise arriving before dusk if possible.
Be advised of the presence of a large and impressive dog that has not proven unfriendly, but may make one feel somewhat uncomfortable.
All in all, a great place to stay, both quiet and neat, with rooms priced just right, and breathtaking views!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

A very good bed and breakfast hotel.**** The location is divine with the beach and sea 1 minute walk away from the breakfast area.
The room that I stayed in was a double room with a sea view with an ensuite wet-room. The bedroom and wet-room were spotlessley clean. Cloddagh and Dorragh who run the hotel are excellant hosts who run the hotel perfectley which includes the loaning out of their dog Bella for walks on the beach.

The only down points are the single track road which leads to the hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank marydairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

What is there not to like about The Dolphin Beach House! Secluded and quiet; tucked away amidst some of the most peaceful seaside/countryside you’ll find anywhere in Connemara, or Ireland, for that matter. Yet accessible to the bayside town of Clifden and its range of restaurants, pubs and bars. I thought breakfast was delicious, fresh food, nice strong coffee. The stunning 180 degree panoramic and picturesque views over the nearby cove, out to the ancient stone cottage ruins and sheep grazing fields, and on across Clifden Bay; a glorious start to anyone’s day.. The picture perfect view out the window in our room at sundown the night before was sublime. Seasoned world travellers and `touristas`, we were absolutely charmed and delighted by our hostess Clodagh, and her family’s creation. Bohemian, yet modern and comfortable. Lovingly presented, we felt very welcome and relaxed. One of my most memorable B&B experiences - EVER! Ok, ok, there was one downside….we were on a driving tour of Ireland from the south to the north along the west coast, and only booked ONE night! What were we thinking? We kicked ourselves from Connemara all the way back to London.

  • Liked — Setting and hospitality
  • Disliked — Didn't stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TomTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed at the Dolphin Beach House for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our room (water view) was very comfortable with a nice seating area outside the room. The breakfasts were excellent. Our host, Clodagh, was very friendly and runs a very professional and friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ms_AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed for one night here with our one year old son. Our room did not have a bath but we had a good shower and beautiful view. My significant other complained there was no TV in the room but for me this is the plus of this place. You can completely tune out and just sit in the cosy sitting room looking out at the water and watch the birds flitting to and fro from the feeder hanging on the balcony. Unfortunately there was no chef to prepare dinner and we had to go into town to eat. I would have been quite happy to stay at home and relax. However, Clodagh did a mean afternoon tea for us with lovely scones and jam! Breakfast was good and a lovely touch were the easter eggs hiding under our mugs. The place is quite far out on the Sky Road but this is the beauty of it and is really a place to get away from it all.

  • Liked — The stunning location
  • Disliked — We had booked as we had heard the dinner menu was excellent but they had no chef
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#5 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Clifden Bay Lodge
Clifden Bay Lodge
#17 of 50 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Property: Dolphin Beach House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing